"As If To Nothing" - Armstrong, Craig


U2 Related Content:

Full Tracklisting:

  • Ruthless Gravity (5:59)
  • Wake Up in New York (featuring Evan Dando) (3:30)
  • Miracle (featuring Mogwai) (3:21)
  • Amber (5:10)
  • Finding Beauty (3:40)
  • Waltz (featuring AGF Poem Producer) (5:17)
  • Inhaler (4:59)
  • Hymn 2 (featuring Photek) (4:49)
  • Snow (featuring David McAlmont) (3:54)
  • Starless II (4:27)
  • Stay (Faraway So Close) (Featuring Bono) (6:02)
  • Niente (4:49)
  • Sea Song (featuring Wendy Stubbs) (6:14)
  • Let it Be Love (featuring Steven Lindsay) (3:50)
  • Choral Ending (featuring The Metro Voices) (2:49)

Bonus Track (20th Anniversary CD and 10-Inch)

  • Waltz (Orchestral Version)

Background Information

As If To Nothing was the second independent album from Scottish composer Craig Armstrong. Armstrong, as an arranger, had worked with U2 prior to this album, and when looking for outside voices to add to his album, approached Bono to sing on the album. Armstrong had also contributed to “Miss Sarajevo”, “Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me”, and “The Ground Beneath Her Feet” among many others. The song performed on this album by Armstrong with Bono, is a new recording of “Stay (Faraway So Close)”, which U2 had recorded on their 1993 album Zooropa and had also released as a single. This version of “Stay” features a full orchestra. Bono is the only member of U2 involved with this re-recording of the song.

During one of the tour stops on the second leg of the Elevation tour Bono re-recorded the vocals for “Stay (Faraway So Close)” for inclusion in this album. Bono recorded the vocals with Mark “Spike” Stent manning the recording studio. The song itself is quite beautiful in this version, although it has always been a favorite. Armstrong is well known for his movie scores.

The album was reissued in early 2022 on the Music on CD label. This is not a new master of the album. Later that same year, a remastered 20th anniversary edition was announced.

Originally announced on August 23, 2022, a 20th anniversary edition of the album was released via Hydrogen Dukebox. The record was remastered at Abbey Road Studios, and the vinyl cut at half-speed, with completely reimagined artwork. The release was on black vinyl and on CD. The CD contained an orchestral version of “Waltz” as a bonus track. Limited edition prints and T-Shirts were also available.

Two special editions were produced as well. The “Dinked Archive Edition” is limited to 500 copies, and comes on clear vinyl. The booklet is signed, and the orchestral version of “Waltz” is included on a special one-sided 10-inch. The second limited edition on vinyl was the white vinyl “Mondo Edition” limited to 300 copies. These did not include the 10-inch and were not signed. Due to manufacturing delays, the album which was originally announced for December 9, 2022, did not get released until March 17, 2023.

Liner Notes

Stay (Faraway So Close):
Featured vocal: Bono. Piano: Craig Armstrong. Vocals recorded by Mark ‘Spike’ Stent.
Written by U2. Produced and arranged by Craig Armstrong. Orchestral, vocal and choral arrangment by Craig Armstrong. Mixed by Geoff Foster, Mark ‘Spike’ Stent, and Andy Bradford. Recorded by Geoff Foster. Assisted by Keith Uddin. Featured Vocal: Bono. Piano: Craig Armstrong. Vocals recorded by Mark ‘Spike’ Stent. Programming and keyboards: Stephen Hilton. Protools: David Donaldson.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases

Other Known Formats:

2002 Issue:

5-Inch CD, Australia, CDSAD13
5-Inch CD, Japan, VJCP 68391
5-Inch CD, USA, ASW 11907-2
5-Inch CD, UK, 7243 8 11907 2 2
5-Inch CD, UK, CDSADDJY13, Promo

2022 Reissue:

5-Inch CD, Netherlands, MOCCD14165

2022 Remaster:

12-Inch/10-Inch, EU, DUKE218DJX, clear vinyl “Dinked Edition” (500 numbered copies)
12-Inch, white vinyl “Mondo Edition” (300 copies)
12-Inch, EU, DUKE218DJV, black vinyl