"The Breakthrough" - Blige, Mary J.


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • No One Will Do (4:48)
  • Enough Cryin (featuring Brook) (4:20)
  • About You (featuring Will I Am) (4:05)
  • Be Without You (4:05)
  • Gonna Breakthrough (Featuring Brook) (4:00)
  • Good Woman Down (4:07)
  • Take Me As I Am (3:57)
  • Baggage (3:35)
  • Can’t Hide from Luv (featuring Jay-Z) (3:52)
  • MJB Da MVP (4:11)
  • Can’t Get Enough (3:40)
  • Ain’t Really Love (4:40)
  • I Found My Everything (featuring Raphael Saadiq) (5:23)
  • Father in You (5:23)
  • Alone (featuring Dave Young) (4:29)
  • One (Mary J Blige and U2) (4:21)
  • Show Love (Hidden) (3:40)
    International Bonus Tracks:
  • So Lady (4:16)
  • Show Love (3:40) [UK, iTunes, Amazon]
  • Out My Head (3:41) [Japan]

Background Information

On September 10, 2005 U2 contributed to the Hurricane Katrina benefit DVD, “Shelter from the Storm: A Concert for the Gulf Coast”. Their contribution was performed live from the Air Canada Centre in Toronto Canada, where they were rehersing for the third leg of the Vertigo Tour. As a special bonus, Mary J. Blige appeared with them to sing “One” on that telethon. That performance was released as a concert DVD and features the original version of this song. For her album “The Breakthrough”, Mary J. Blige took this base performance from September 2005, and added additional strings and vocals, as well as other additional music. The song was released internationally as a single featuring a “Single Edit” of the track, and was featured on her album “The Breakthrough”.

The CD, “The Breakthrough” features a hidden track that follows approximately 20 seconds after “One” finishes on the CD. The two tracks are combined together as one track that is 8:18 in length with 20 seconds of silence between the two on most releases. The recording of “One” itself runs 4:21 in length.

U2 would later release this version of the duet with Mary J Blige on the 2011 fan club release from u2.com titled “Duals”. The original version, featuring Blige and U2 can be found on the DVD “Shelter from the Storm: A Concert for the Gulf Coast”.

Liner Notes

One: Words: Bono. Music: U2. Produced by Ron Fair. Pro Tools / Co produced by Tal Herzberg. Vocals and Guitar: Bono. Guitar: The Edge. Bass guitar: Adam Clayton. Drums and percussion: Larry Mullen Jr. Original recording by Carl Glanville. Strings arranged and conducted by Ron Fair. Strings recorded by Allen Sickles. String Players: Endre Genet, Natalie Leggett, Tereza Stanislav, Jackie Brand, Charlie Bisharat, Joel Derouin, Mario De Leon, Julie Gigante, Josefina Cergara, Tammy Hattwan, Clayton Hansop, Sid Page, Roberto Cain, Phillip Levy, Songa Lee, Alan Grumfeld, Lily Ho Chen, Alyssa Park, Brian Dembrow, Sam Formicola, Matt Funes, Darrin McCann, Marlow Fisher, Andrew Duckles, Steve Erbody, Larry Corbett, David Low, Suzie Katayama, Armen Ksajikian, Paula Hochhalter. Piano and organ: Ron Fair. Additional electric and acoustic guitar: John Goux. Additional recording engineered by Mike Eleopolous. Mixed by Jack Joseph Puig. Mix assisted by by Dean Nelson.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases