"Back to the Centre" - Brady, Paul


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Walk the White Line (5:04)
  • Wheel of Heartbreak (5:09)
  • Deep in Your Heart (6:01)
  • To Be the One (4:51)
  • Follow On (4:15)
  • Soulbeat (4:51)
  • Airwaves (4:44)
  • The Island (5:28)

Background Information

Somewhere between October and November 1985, Larry Mullen popped into Utopia Studios in London to work with Paul Brady on his album “Back to the Centre”. Larry featured on drums on one track, “Airwaves” which was released on this album. Although some discographies list Bono and the Edge being involved with the album as well, this is not the case and Larry is the only member of U2 who worked on this album.

The album was initially released in early 1986, and had spent many years out of print, until Compass records released a re-mastered version of the original recording.

Larry Mullen would also work with Paul Brady among others on the single “Make it Work”.

Liner Notes

Airwaves: Larry Mullen Jr: Drums; Ian Maidman: Bass and percussion; Phil Palmer: Lead electric guitar; Paul Brady: Piano, keyboards, electric rhythm guitar and vocal; Phil Saatchi, Loudon Wainwright III, Paul Rabiger, Ian Maidman and Paul Brady: Backing vocals. Recorded at Utopia Studios, London, Oct / Nov ’85. Produced by Ian Maidman and John Lee. Assisted by Paul Rabiger, Mog and Simon Vinestock. Engineered by John Lee. Assisted by Paul.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases