"Proof Through the Night and The Complete Trap Door" - Burnett, T-Bone

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

Disc One:
  • The Murder Weapon
  • Fatally Beautiful
  • After All These Years
  • Baby Fell Down
  • The Sixties
  • Stunned
  • Pressure
  • Hula Hoop
  • When the Night Falls
  • Hefner and Disney
  • Shut it Tight
  • Be Careful of Stones that you Throw
    Disc Two:
  • Hold On Tight
  • Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend
  • I Wish You Could Have Seen Her Dance
  • A Ridiculous Man
  • Poetry
  • Trap Door
  • Strange Combination
  • Amnesia and Jealousy (Oh! Lana)
  • Having a Wonderful Time, Wish You Were Her
  • The Law of Average
  • My Life at the Women who Lived it
  • Welcome Home, Mr. Lewis

Background Information

This is a release as part of the “Rhino Hand Made” series of releases. The collection is put together by the Rhino label, and creates limited editions of otherwise unavailable material from the archives of the label, which are then sold only on the internet. This collection is from a series of EPs by T-Bone Burnett that have been out of print for some time, and the collection was limited to 5000 copies. Each copy is individually numbered on the booklet which is contained within the set. The EPs collected here are “Proof Through the Night”, “Trap Door” and “Behind the Trap Door”. The last, “Behind the Trap Door” featured a song, “Having a Wonderful TIme, Wish You Were Her” which Burnett wrote with Bono.

The songs are remastered from their original vinyl releases, but retain their original mixes from those EPs. Bono does not appear on the track, it is a solo song by Burnett, that he contributed lyrics to only. It is one of the earliest solo projects outside the band by anyone in U2, being predated only by some of The Edge’s solo work. When asked about “Having a Wonderful Time Wish You Were Her” Bono commented, “I really like that song but I didn’t write much of it. T-Bone was very generous in giving me 50% of the song. I Really love it. I’ve written others with T-Bono like Purple Heart on his last album. I think we’ve started on another one. He’s working on his next LP – the one to answer every question ever asked. It’s called “I Can’t Explain Everything”. T-Bone’s heart is as tall as he is.

Bono would again work with T-Bone Burnett on his 1988 album “The Talking Animals” on which Bono both co-wrote and sings backing on the song “Purple Heart”.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases