"Film Music 1976-2020" - Eno, Brian


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • “Top Boy (Theme)” from Top Boy – Series 1, directed by Yann Demange, 2011
  • “Ship In A Bottle” from The Lovely Bones, directed by Peter Jackson, 2009
  • “Blood Red” from Francis Bacon’s Arena, directed by Adam Low, 2005
  • “Under” from Cool World, directed by Ralph Bakshi, 1992
  • “Decline And Fall” from O Nome da Morte, directed by Henrique Goldman, 2017
  • “Prophecy Theme” from Dune, directed by David Lynch, 1984
  • “Reasonable Question” from We Are As Gods, directed by David Alvarado / Jason Sussberg, 2020
  • “Late Evening In Jersey” from Heat, directed by Michael Mann, 1995
  • “Beach Sequence” from Beyond The Clouds, directed by Michelangelo Antonioni, 1995
  • “You Don’t Miss Your Water” from Married to the Mob, directed by Jonathan Demme, 1988
  • “Deep Blue Day” from Trainspotting, directed by Danny Boyle, 1996
  • “The Sombre” from Top Boy – Series 2, directed by Jonathan van Tulleken, 2013
  • “Dover Beach” from Jubilee, directed by Derek Jarman, 1978
  • “Design as Reduction” from Rams, directed by Gary Hustwit, 2018
  • “Undersea Steps” from Hammerhead, directed by George Chan, 2004
  • “Final Sunset” from Sebastiane, directed by Derek Jarman, 1976
  • “An Ending (Ascent)” from For All Mankind, directed by Al Reinert, 1989

Background Information

On November 13, 2020, Brian Eno released his first collection of music that he has composed for film and television soundtracks. The release includes a number of previously released tracks by Eno, as well as seven previously unreleased tracks.

The press release speaks of his work with film and with U2, “His 1978 studio album, Music For Films was a loose compilation of material recorded between 1975 ~ 1978. It was intended as a conceptual soundtrack for imaginary films, and only the last track, “Final Sunset” was written for an actual film. It proved to be a fruitful project with nearly every piece on the album going on to be used in future films, including several of Derek Jarman’s, the remake of Jean-Luc Goddard’s Breathless, John Woo’s A Better Tomorrow, Rock ‘n’ Roll High School and Todd Hayes’ Safe.

Eno again explored this approach with U2 as Passengers on their collaboration album, Original Soundtracks 1. Four of the tracks from the album were used in films prior to release: “Beach Sequence” and “Your Blue Room” in Michelangelo Antonioni’s Beyond the Clouds, “Miss Sarajevo” in an eponymous documentary about a beauty pageant held in the midst of besieged ’93 Sarajevo, and “One Minute Warning” in Mamoru Oshii’s Japanese animation classic, Ghost in the Shell. Another track, “Always Forever Now” later appeared in Heat.

The track here is very close in sound to the album track available on Original Soundtracks 1, but it is edited slightly. On the original Passengers album, the song that comes before “Beach Sequence” includes atmospheric noises that blend into the noises at the start of “Beach Sequence.” On this new album by Eno, there has been a fade added into the track. The track is also mastered at a louder volume than the original 1995 album. And it also fades out earlier than the 1995 album. But the overall track length is longer due to added silence at the end of the track.

“Beach Sequence” is the only track from the Passengers album available on this album. It was made available via streaming services on October 2, 2020 in advance of the November release of the album, and can now be heard by clicking on the lyrics link above.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases