"Lean on Me" - Franklin, Kirk

Promotional Release

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Lean On Me (Video Version) (5:10)
  • Lean On Me (Album Version) (5:56)

Background Information

In advance of the album, “The Nu Nation Project”, Kirk Franklin released a promotional single to radio for “Lean on Me”. The song featured several mainstream artists performing an interpretation of the Bill Withers song. Vocalists on the song included R. Kelly, Mary J. Blige and Bono. The recording was made in the summer of 1998, and Bono recorded his vocals at a distance, having been recorded in Ireland while much of the album was recorded elsewhere.

The promotional single released featured two versions of the title track. The first is labelled “Video Version” and is 5:10 in length. The second is labelled “Album Version” and is 5:56 in length. Even though it is labeled “Album Version” this second track is not taken from the album. The version featured on the album is 5:08 in length.

The song “Lean on Me” was released as a commercial single as well. The song went on to be nominated for a Grammy Award at the 1999 ceremony. The song was performed live at the Award ceremony, and Bono guested on stage with the collective.

Liner Notes

Lean on Me: (Both Versions)
Written by Kirk Franklin. Co-Produced by Dan Shea. Vocals co-produced by Kevin Bond for Bonded Music. Recorded at Andora Studios, Burbank, CA; Paramount Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Wallyworld Studios, San Rafael, CA; by Dave Rideau, Bobby Fernandez, David Gleeson, and Dan Shea. Assisted by Luis Quine and Paul Westheimer. Recorded at Dallas Sound Lab, Dallas, TX; Enterprise Studios, Burbank, CA; by “Bassy” Bob Brockman, Kevin Bond, and Chris Bell. Assisted by James Murray and Phil Green. Recorded at Chicago Trax, Chicago, IL. Assistant engineer: Anthony Kilhosser. Recorded at Westland Studios, Dublin, Ireland. Mixed at Barking Doctor Studios, Mt. Kisco, NY by Mick Guzauski. Assisted by Tom Bender. Production coordinated by Lexy Shroyer. Mastered at Sterling Sound, New York, NY by Tom Coins. Lead Vocals: R. Kelly, Mary J. Blige, Crystal Lewis, Bono, Tamela Mann, and Dalon Collins. Background Vocals: The Family. Additional background vocals: Nu Nation. Piano: Kirk Franklin. Piano, keyboards and Rhythm Programming: Dan Shea. Organ: Jerome Harmon. Guitar: Michael Landau. Bass: Nathan East. Drums: Ricky Lawson. Percussion: Len Barrett. Strings arranged & conducted by: Bill Ross.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases