"The Nu Nation Project" - Franklin, Kirk


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Interlude: The Verdict (1:30)
  • Revolution (5:39)
  • Lean on Me (5:08)
  • Something about the Name Jesus (6:08)
  • Riverside (5:26)
  • He Loves Me (5:43)
  • Gonna Be a Lovely Day (5:41)
  • Praise Joint (Remix) (4:22)
  • Hold Me Now (5:51)
  • You Are (3:53)
  • Interlude: The Car (Stomp) (1:25)
  • If You’ve Been Delivered (3:34)
  • Smile Again (6:52)
  • Love (Remix) (0:39)
  • My Desire (4:17)
  • Blessing in the Storm (3:29)
  • I Can (1:23)

Background Information

“The Nu Nation Project” was the fifth studio album from Kirk Franklin, an American Gospel musician, and choir director. The first single from the album, was an interpretation of the Bill Withers song “Lean on Me” and was produced by Franklin and pop producer Dan Shea. The song featured several mainstream artists, including R. Kelly, Mary J. Blige and Bono of U2. Bono’s portion of the song were recorded long distance and were edited into the song at a later date. The song “Lean on Me” was released as a single, and there were also promotional singles released. The song went on to be nominated for a Grammy Award at the 1999 ceremony. The song was performed live at the Award ceremony, and Bono guested on stage with the collective.

The actual album version of “Lean on Me” on this release was 5:08 in length. On the singles that were released, there was a version of “Lean on Me” that was labelled as the “Album Version” – but it wasn’t. That version of the song was 5:58 in length and was a different mix. As this promotional single proceeded the album itself, it is possible that the version used on the album changed late in the game and was shortened to another version. The promotional single also included Lean On Me (Video Version) which was 5:10 in length.

“The Nu Nation Project“went on to top the Billboard Contemporary Christian Albums chart for 23 weeks and the Billboard Gospel Albums chart for 49 weeks, and brought Franklin his third Grammy.

Liner Notes

Lean on Me:
Written by Kirk Franklin. Co-Produced by Dan Shea. Vocals co-produced by Kevin Bond for Bonded Music. Recorded at Andora Studios, Burbank, CA; Paramount Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Wallyworld Studios, San Rafael, CA; by Dave Rideau, Bobby Fernandez, David Gleeson, and Dan Shea. Assisted by Luis Quine and Paul Westheimer. Recorded at Dallas Sound Lab, Dallas, TX; Enterprise Studios, Burbank, CA; by “Bassy” Bob Brockman, Kevin Bond, and Chris Bell. Assisted by James Murray and Phil Green. Recorded at Chicago Trax, Chicago, IL. Assistant engineer: Anthony Kilhosser. Recorded at Westland Studios, Dublin, Ireland. Mixed at Barking Doctor Studios, Mt. Kisco, NY by Mick Guzauski. Assisted by Tom Bender. Production coordinated by Lexy Shroyer. Mastered at Sterling Sound, New York, NY by Tom Coins. Lead Vocals: R. Kelly, Mary J. Blige, Crystal Lewis, Bono, Tamela Mann, and Dalon Collins. Background Vocals: The Family. Additional background vocals: Nu Nation. Piano: Kirk Franklin. Piano, keyboards and Rhythm Programming: Dan Shea. Organ: Jerome Harmon. Guitar: Michael Landau. Bass: Nathan East. Drums: Ricky Lawson. Percussion: Len Barrett. Strings arranged & conducted by: Bill Ross. Executive Producers: Vicki Mack Lataillade and Jimmy Iovine.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases