"I Walk Live" - Grönemeyer


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • The Tunnel
  • I Walk
  • All That I Need
  • Keep Hurting Me
  • Always on My Mind
  • To the Sea
  • Before the Morning
  • The Letter
  • Will I Ever Learn
  • Because of You
  • Mensch
  • Alcohol
  • Airplanes in my Head
  • Love is the Rush
  • Behind the Glass
  • Marie
  • Stuck in a Moment
  • The Way
  • Lead Me Home
  • Same Old Boys

Background Information

Grönemeyer worked with Bono on his album “I Walk” recording a new version of his song “Mensch” for the album. While Bono was working on that project Grönemeyer also invited him to join him in concert at Babelsberg Studios in Berlin for two songs. That night Bono performed with Grönemeyer on “Mensch” and also returned to the stage to perform “Stuck in a Moment You Can’t Get Out Of”. Bono had performed “Mensch” with Grönemeyer prior to this in 2007 at a concert in Rostock Germany as part of the “Make Poverty History” movement.

Initially this full length concert performance was shown on PBS in the US. The show aired on December 3, 8, and 9th of 2012. There was also a DVD made available of the concert immediately to anyone who wanted to contribute $75 to PBS.

The description of this DVD on the PBS site was as follows:

Taped at Postdam in Germany, and featuring Bono of U2 as a guest star, Grönemeyer combines his own original songs with some of his favorite classics in a one-hour concert . The concert includes two duets with Bono: an English version of Herbert’s biggest hit “Mensh”, and also the U2 Classic “In the Moment”. Other Songs performed include: “The Tunnel”, composed by Herbert for the soundtrack of the film “The American” starring George Clooney, “The Letter” (made popular by Joe Cocker), “Always on My Mind” by Willie Nelson, “Marie” by Randy Newman and “I’m On Fire” by Bruce Springsteen.

However for those who didn’t feel like spending the $75, the entire concert was commercially released on September 10, 2013 in the US. In this release, the full concert is available, and it is packaged in a digipack format, with a full colour booklet included. Both “Mensch” and “Stuck in a Moment” are available on the DVD featuring Bono.

On disc one, there is a gallery of performance photos, and some of these include Bono. There is also a full page of photos in the booklet accompanying the DVD which feature Bono.

The commercial release comes with a second bonus DVD which includes an interview with Grönemeyer – during this interview, about 9 minutes in, Grönemeyer discusses Bono’s participation in the DVD, their work together in Make Poverty History, and the work on the album recording of “Mensch”. They refer to “Stuck in a Moment” as the songs name throughout just as it is credited on the back of the DVD.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases