"The Very Best of Emmylou Harris: Heartaches & Highways" - Harris, Emmylou

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Love Hurts
  • Boulder To Birmingham
  • Making Believe
  • Pancho & Lefty
  • One Of These Days
  • (Lost His Love) On Our Last Date
  • Born To Run
  • Beneath Still Waters
  • If I Could Only Win Your Love
  • Together Again
  • That Lovin’ You Feelin’ Again
  • To Know Him Is To Love Him
  • Two More Bottles Of Wine
  • Wayfaring Stranger
  • Calling My Childern Home
  • Green Pastures
  • Orphan Girl
  • Michelangelo
  • Here I Am
  • The Connection

Background Information

During 1994, after the long Zoo TV tour, Larry Mullen took some time off and moved to New York. During that time he worked on his drumming skills, as well as participating in some recording sessions with Emmylou Harris helmed by Daniel Lanois. Those sessions became an album entitled “Wrecking Ball” that Harris released in the fall of 1995. It was Daniel Lanois’ involvement in the recording which brought Larry Mullen’s participation in the project. Mullen features on 9 of the 12 tracks featured on the album.

The song “Orphan Girl” from those sessions with Larry Mullen Jr., was chosen by Emmylou Harris to be on this, her compilation of “Best songs”. She discusses the song in the liner notes: “Wrecking Ball (1995) was her Grammy-winning landmark collaboration with producer Daniel Lanois. This was the album that was the most difficult to select from, Harris says. In the end, she chose Gillian Welch’s “Orphan Girl” to represent the collection. “I’ve always felt that ‘Orphan Girl’ was the bridge between the ‘country’ Emmylou and that wonderful Lanois landscape,” Harris explains. “It’s another of those pivotal songs for me.”

The version included on this compilation is the same as that found on her “Wrecking Ball” album.

Liner Notes

Orphan Girl:
Written by Gillian Welch. Produced by Daniel Lanois. Featuring Emmylou Harris: Acoustic Guitar, Harmony Vocal. Daniel Lanois: Mandolin, dulcimer. Malcolm Burn: Tambourine. Larry Mullen Jr.: Hand drum. Tony Hall: Stick drum. Daryl Johnson: Harmony vocal.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases