"Goddess in the Doorway" - Jagger, Mick


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Visions of Paradise (4:01)
  • Joy (4:40)
  • Dancing in the Starlight (4:06)
  • God Gave Me Everything (3:34)
  • Hide Away (4:33)
  • Don’t Call Me Up (5:14)
  • Goddess in the Doorway (4:56)
  • Lucky Day (4:51)
  • Everybody Getting High (3:56)
  • Gun (4:41)
  • Too Far Gone (4:35)
  • Brand New Set of Rules (7:39)
    Japanese Bonus Track:
  • If Things Could Be Different (4:49)

Background Information

Mick Jagger is famous both as a solo artist, as well as being the front man for the Rolling Stones. The album “Goddess in the Doorway” was his fourth solo album. The album was recorded in the early half of 2001, and made use of Jagger’s home studio in the south of France. Bono’s work was likely recorded at that location on one of his trips to the South of France. Bono’s portion of the album was recorded the day after the Elevation tour stop in Cologne, on July 14, 2001. Bono recorded vocals for the song “Joy”.

Jagger had the following to say about the track “Joy”: “I was in my little studio in France just playing the guitar and I just wrote it more or less straight out. Lyrically, I just filled in the gaps later. It was just a gospel song really, and I wrote it very quickly. As for Bono, when you’ve done so many records for so many years, you have to give young people a go. It worked really well – I’d already done the vocal, then I took it to him. He took it and did a lot of stream of consciousness at the end.”

The album was initially released on November 19/20 throughout the world. A copy on black vinyl would not be released until December 4/5 of the year.

Video footage of the recording of Bono’s portion of the song “Joy” can be viewed in the documentary “Being Mick”, released in 2001 on ABC Television, and released on DVD on May 21, 2002. The song was also included on Mick Jagger’s 2007 compilation titled “The Very Best of Mick Jagger”. The version included on that compilation is the same found on this album.

Liner Notes

Produced by Matt Clifford and Mick Jagger. Mixed by Jack Joseph Puig. Recorded by Max Heyes. Additional recording: Mick Dolan. Mick Jagger: Lead and backing vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, percussion. Bono: Lead vocals. Pete Townsend: Guitar. Matt Clifford: B3, piano, synthesizer, backing vocals. Ruby Turner: Backing vocals. Ian Thomas: Drums. Phil Spaulding: Bass.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases