"ÕŸÖ" - Kidjo, Angelique

Album (North American Release)

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing

  • Zelie
  • Samba Pa Ti feat. Roy Hargrove
  • Move On Up feat. John Legend and Bono
  • Lakutshona Llanga
  • I’ve Got Dreams To Remember
  • Kelele
  • Monfe Ran E feat. Dianne Reeves
  • Dil Main Chuppa Ke Pyar Ka
  • Petite Fleur
  • Afia
  • Cold Sweat
  • Out Of Africa
  • Mbube
  • Atcha Houn
  • You Can Count On Me (from the Unicef Campaign)
  • Agbalagba (inspired by Uwem Akpan’s book “Say You’re One of Them”)

Background Information

Angelique Kidjo initially released the album “ÕŸÖ” on January 18, 2010 in the UK and Europe. That release of her album featured a very different track listing, and did not include any content participation from Bono, even though it did contain the song “Move On Up” it was a version without Bono. This version of the album starts with the track “You Can Count On Me”.

On April 6, 2010, Kidjo released the album in North America, and it is this release which contains Bono on vocals. This version of the album has “You Can Count on Me” at the end of the CD as a bonus track, and starts with the track “Zelie”. If you are looking to purchase the version with Bono participating it is important to watch for these differences.

“ÕŸÖ” was a collection of songs which Kidjo grew up with in her native Benin, that were instrumental in her artistic formation. The album is for the majority an album of cover songs. The song “Move On Up” was originally written by Curtis Mayfield in 1970 as an anthem for the children of his community. Kidjo dedicates her version to the African youth of today who will change the future of their continent. The song was initially recorded with John Legend for use on “ÕŸÖ” and that is the version (3:46) that appears on the earliest releases in the UK and Europe and does not include any singing by Bono.

The song was later remixed adding in additional vocals by Bono recorded by Declan Gaffney. This version was used on her release of the album “ÕŸÖ” in North America. The song was also quickly pressed to promotional CD and circulated to radio. This version that includes Bono is (3:13) in length. The booklet of the USA release mistakenly lists this as 3:46 which was the length of the version released without Bono in other regions.

A single was released on iTunes titled “Move On Up (Radioclit Remixes)” – this single remixes the version with John Legend released on the initial recordings. This remix single DOES NOT contain Bono’s newly recorded parts of the song. Kidjo also recorded the song (3:54) with Brandford Marsalis for her 2012 album “Spirit Rising”, this too does not include any participation from Bono.

A video was filmed for “Move On Up” and it uses the version where Bono sings, although he nor John Legend appear in the video. The video features Kidjo dancing in a darkened studio and singing the song. In the background behind her are the Bill T. Jones FELA! dancers from the Broadway musical. The video is directed by Kevin J. Custer.

Liner Notes

Move on Up (Angelique Kidjo featuring Bono and John Legend):
Written by Curtis Mayfield. Performed by Angelique Kidjo featuring Bono and John Legend. Recorded and mixed by Russell Elevado at Avatar Studios. Assisted by Akihiro Nishimura. Guitars: Lionel Loueke. Drums: Kendrick Scott. Upright bass: Christian McBride. Percussion: Ibrahim “Thiokho” Diagne. Drums: Poogie Bell. Bono vocal recorded by Declan Gaffney, mixed by Michael Brauer at Electric Lady Studios.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases