"Shine" - Lanois, Daniel


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing

  • I Love You (4:31)
  • Falling at Your Feet (New Mix) (3:41)
  • As Tears Roll By (3:55)
  • Sometimes (2:28)
  • Shine (3:30)
  • Transmitter (3:08)
  • San Juan (2:33)
  • Matador (5:02)
  • Space Kay (2:01)
  • Slow Giving (3:52)
  • Fire (3:38)
  • Power of One (3:43)
  • JJ Leaves LA (4:13)
    Bonus Track:
  • Red

Background Information

After almost ten years, Daniel Lanois released his solo album “Shine” in 2003. In between he worked as a producer on a number of projects including involvement in the “Million Dollar Hotel” soundtrack with Bono. That soundtrack, released in 2000, contained the song “Falling At Your Feet”, a duet between Lanois and Bono. The original version also had Larry Mullen performing on drums. In 2003 when putting together the “Shine” album, Lanois returned to that song, and reworked it extensively. The original version of the song featured Bono prominently in the vocal mix in the early verses with Lanois as an echo further back in the mix. The new version released here on “Shine” reverses this so Lanois is featured more prominently in the mix.

Individual credits for the songs are not listed, nor are they on the single “Falling at Your Feet” which was released. Contributing musicians listed on the project include Brian Blade, Daryl Johnson, Aaron Embry, Chris Thomas, Malcolm Burn, Brady Blade, Tony Mangurian, Charley Patton and Bono. The recording team listed is Adam Samuels and Jennifer Tipoulow, with Mark Howard and Wayne Lorenz being listed as being responsible for early recordings. The only individual credits available for “Falling at Your Feet” are “Written by Bono & Daniel Lanois, performed by Daniel Lanois with Bono”. The original version on “The Million Dollar Hotel” had been listed as being performed by Bono with Daniel Lanois.

The song “Red” was a bonus track on Canadian and Japanese editions. Bono does not appear on this bonus track, nor any other tracks of the album except for “Falling At Your Feet”.

“Falling at Your Feet” was also released as a single in Europe, pressed in The Netherlands on CD. It was also issued to radio as a promotional single. Promotional copies of the entire album were also issued by Anti Records.

Liner Notes

Falling at Your Feet: Written by Bono & Daniel Lanois, performed by Daniel Lanois with Bono

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases