"Born Again Savage (D.A.M. Promo)" - Little Steven

Promotional Release

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing

  • Interview – Little Steven (5:54)
  • Camouflage of Righteousness (Short Edit) (1:20)
  • Interview – Little Steven (7:35)
  • Face of God (Short Edit) (1:43)
  • Interview – Little Steven (12:09)
  • Guns, Drugs, and Gasoline (Short Edit) (1:25)
  • Interview – Little Steven (5:43)
  • Salvation (Short Edit) (1:27)
  • Interview – Little Steven (2:34)

Background Information

During a break from U2 in 1994, Adam Clayton would join with Little Steven (member of Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band) and Jason Bonham (son of Led Zeppelin drummer John Bonham) to work on an album. The album, written arranged and produced by Little Steven was initially developed in 1989 and 1990, but remained unrecorded until 1994. Even then, Little Steven having been dropped from his record label struggled to find a record company which would release the album. The album would be listed in the 1996 edition of “Into the Heart” by Niall Stokes under the solo discography listing for Adam Clayton with a date of 1994. Little Steven put the album on the back burner until he was able to establish Renegade Nation, a company that would assist artists in taking control of their own career. The first release though Renegade Records was Little Steven’s “Born Again Savage” in November of 1999. Sales of “Born Again Savage” was done through Little Steven’s website, related sites, as well as mail order, and was not made commercially available in stores. Little Steven did discuss how sales of this album were disappointing and how it did less business than expected. Adam Clayton performs on all of the album tracks. In the liner notes of the album, Little Steven says: ““Thank you Adam Clayton. Your bass is the anchor of this record and your friendship and encouragment got this whole thing started.”

Starting on September 22, 1999, Little Steven was the featured artist of the week on http://www.mp3.com. mp3.com was a digital music magazine. Featured on the track was an edit of the song “Camouflage of Righteousness” which could be streamed or downloaded. Additional to the live content on the website with a focus on the new album, and the upcoming CD, mp3.com also made available what they called DAM CDs for the artists they featured. For a small fee, you could buy one of these DAM CDs, which stood for Digital Automatic Music. The DAM CD was a CDR sent in a regular jewel case with a generic mp3.com insert in the back. A printed cover is included, but it is a low quality printed cover. The CDRs used at the time the company was pressing these were Kodak CD-R – and were printed with information about the release.

In the case of the Little Steven DAM CD, the CD contained four songs from the album edited to a very short form. It also included an extensive interview with Little Steven about the upcoming album as well as many of his solo projects, such as his appearances on “The Sopranos” and his touring with Bruce Springsteen. Only passing mention of Adam Clayton is made in the interview, when the interviewer asks “It was recorded with just you and two other musicians?”. Little Steven replies: “Yeah just me, and Adam Clayton, y’know the bass player from U2 and Jason Bonham on drums. I wanted to make, literally i wanted to make a sixties hard rock record that I grew up with and always wanted to do, but y’know was hard to do. It took me a long time to be able to do it.”

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases