"Walkin' in the Shadow of Life" - Neville Brothers, The


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Walkin’ in the Shadow of Life (4:18)
  • Poppa Funk (1:45)
  • Can’t Stop the Funk (4:03)
  • Ball of Confusion (That’s What the World is Today) (4:42)
  • Kingdom Come (4:43)
  • Middle Passage (1:00)
  • Junkie Child (4:30)
  • Streets are Callin’ (4:05)
  • Your Life (Fallen Soldiers) (3:54)
  • Scrape Scat (0:57)
  • Carry the Torch (4:22)
  • Brothers (4:41)
  • Rivers of Babylon (4:05)

Background Information

After the LoveTown tour ended in 1990, Bono spent some time in America with his family, and that included a few weeks in New Orleans, where the Neville Brothers were guides to the city. The Neville Brothers are an R&B group, primarily made up of four brothers – Art, Aaron, Cyril and Charles Neville. During that time Bono presented the song “Jah Love” to the Nevilles, and they worked together on finishing the song. He wrote another song at that time with Cyril Neville, “Kingdom Come”.

“Jah Love” was recorded and released almost immediately, and was featured on 1990’s “Brothers Keeper” album by the Neville Brothers. It wasn’t until 2004, that the other song “Kingdom Come” would be released on the album “Walkin’ in the Shadow of Life”. During the same time Bono also worked on a third song called “Ballad of New Orleans which remains unreleased. Bono was not present for the recording of “Kingdom Come”, and does not feature on the song. The song was recorded in 2003, and the recording does not date from the earlier time frame.

In the liner notes Cyril Neville mentions the long ties back to the “Brothers Keeper” album writing, “Thanks to Daniel Lanois, Brian Eno and Bono for inspiration that goes back to Brother’s Keeper days”.

The album “Walkin’ in the Shadow of Life” was released with copy control technology which causes the CD to be unplayable in some audio players.

Liner Notes

Kingdom Come: Written by Bono / Cyril Neville. Produced by Milton Davis, The Neville Brothers and Ivan Neville. Aaron Neville: vocals, Art Neville: vocals, hammond B3, keyboards. Charles Neville: Flute, alto, soprano and tenor saxophones. Cyril Neville: Vocals, percussion, drums. Ivan Neville: Vocals, clavinet, Rhodes, keyboards, guitars, bass, drums. Ian Neville: Guitars. Milton Davis: Bass, guitars, additional programming. James Bevelle: Drum Programming.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases