"So Far...The Best Of" - O'Connor, Sinéad

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Nothing Compares 2U
  • Mandinka
  • The Emperor’s New Clothes
  • The Last Day of Our Acquaintance
  • Fire on Babylon
  • Troy
  • I Am Stretched on Your Grave
  • Success has Made a Failure of Our Home
  • John I Love You
  • Empire (featuring Bomb the Bass)
  • I Want Your (Hands on Me)
  • Heroine (Featuirng the Edge)
  • Don’t Cry for Me Argentina
  • You Made Me the Thief of Your Heart
  • Just Like U Said it Would B

Alternate Tracks:

  • Thank You for Hearing Me
  • Jackie
  • This Is a Rebel Song

Background Information

“So Far…The Best Of” was the last album Sinéad O’Connor released on the Chrysalis label. It is an overview of her work on the label, and includes some of her biggest hits to date, as well as some odds and ends collaborations which hadn’t been released on an album proper. The album was put together as Sinéad O’Connor was leaving Chrysalis, and was seen by many as the label’s attempt to cash in on the earlier catalogue material before she was gone for good. The album was released in 1997 and featured two different track listings in various parts of the world. The North American release featured “Heroine”, “I Want Your Hands on Me” and “Just Like U Said it Would B” where the release in the rest of the world had “Thank You for Hearing Me”, “Jackie” and “This IS a Rebel Song” instead.

The compilation included two tracks that had involvement from U2, both from soundtracks. In 1986, for one of her earliest recordings, Sinéad O’Connor worked with The Edge on his recording of the soundtrack to the film “Captive”. The song had been released as a single and also featured on the soundtrack album. The version released here is the same as the one found on the soundtrack. Larry Mullen Jr. also joins The Edge on this track, although he is not credited in the liner notes for this release by Sinéad.

In 1993, Sinéad O’Connor would also work with Gavin Friday and Bono on the soundtrack to “In the Name of the Father”. They wrote the song “You Made Me the Thief of Your Heart” for Sinéad to sing. It too had been released as a single, with multiple mixes. The version released here is the same as the one found on the soundtrack to that film.

A third track has some U2 connections on this compilation. Sinead’s song “The Is a Rebel Song” was playfully named to differ from the way Bono would often introduce “Sunday Bloody Sunday” in concert by saying “This is not a Rebel Song”. Sinéad specifically chose the title to counter that introduction.

Liner Notes

Heroine (Theme from Captive):
The Edge / Michael Brook / Sinéad O’Connor
Produced by The Edge with Michael Brook. Remix by Steve Lillywhite. Music by The Edge of U2.

You Made Me the Thief of Your Heart:
Bono / Gavin Friday / Maurice Seezer
Produced by Gavin Friday and Tim Simenon. Engineered by Paul Barrett / Q / Kerry Hopwood. Mixed by Tim Simenon.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases