"North America 2005: Toronto, ON / Sept. 19th" - Pearl Jam

Digital Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

Disc One:
  • Release
  • Go
  • Animal / Save You
  • Given to Fly
  • Corduroy
  • Love Boat Captain
  • Small Town
  • Even Flow
  • Habit
  • Daughter
  • Betterman
  • Half Full
  • Black
    Disc Two:
  • Do the Evolution
  • Rearview Mirror
  • Encore Break
  • Hide Your Love Away
  • Present Tense
  • Wishlist
  • Harvest Moon
  • Indifference / Alive
  • Encore Break
  • Blood
  • Jeremy
  • Leaving Here
  • Rockin’ in the Free World (with Bono)
  • Yellow

Background Information

The September 2005 tour by Pearl Jam was a Canadian cross-country tour, and this recording is from a concert held at Toronto’s Air Canada Center on September 19, 2005. Two nights earlier, Eddie Vedder, the lead vocalist with Pearl Jam, had joined U2 on stage at the Air Canada Center where U2 was kicking off the third leg of the Vertigo Tour. He joined U2 and Daniel Lanois on stage and they performed the song “Ol’ Man River”. Two nights later, Bono returned the favor when he showed up at the Pearl Jam concert, also at the Air Canada Centre. Bono joined Pearl Jam for a performance of “Rockin’ in the Free World” while The Edge and Larry looked on from the sidelines.

Throughout the show, Vedder performs snippets of U2 songs, knowing that U2 was in attendance at the show, and having attended U2’s show in Toronto just days prior. Bono appears only on vocals for “Rockin’ in the Free World” but during the show Vedder adds snippets of “A Sort of Homecoming” before his performance of “Small Town”; “Bad” is added before his performance of “Habit”, and he adds the “if I could you know I would” parts of “Bad” at the end of “Daughter”. A snippet of “Yahweh” is also sung during “Daughter”. This download contains the entire performance, including Bono’s performance on “Rockin’ in the Free World” as well as Vedder’s addition of snippets to other songs.

Pearl Jam has long made official bootlegs of their concerts available to fans. The 2005 tour was no different, and hours after a show the entire concert would be available for download from the Pearl Jam Website for a fee. In the case of this album, the fee was $9.99 for an entire concert. The download was at 192kbps back at the time this album was released. The download includes mp3s of the entire concert performance, and front and back covers as well as labels to make your own CDs from the download, as well as a selection of photographs from the concert. Although earlier concerts were released on CD, and later downloads would also include an option for FLACs, the 2005 releases were in mp3 format only.

On December 11, 2019, Pearl Jam emailed fans letting them know that they now had 400+ of their live recordings streaming through the service Nugs.net. Shows are available to stream but also can be bought and downloaded. At that time the Toronto 2005 show was one of the shows made available, and for the first time is available in uncompressed FLAC and ALAC formats. mp3 format is available for $9.99 and FLAC / ALAC is available for $14.99. Although available in a higher quality audio format, this newer download does not contain the additional photographs or cover designs to print. The same cover used for the original is embedded as an image in the downloaded files.

Liner Notes

No traditional liner notes with this digital release.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases