"All The Best" - Turner, Tina

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

Disc One:
  • Open Arms
  • Nutbush City Limits
  • What You Get Is What You See
  • Missing You
  • The Best
  • River Deep Mountain High
  • When the Heartache is Over
  • Let’s Stay Together
  • I Don’t Wanna Fight
  • Whatever You Need
  • I Can’t Stand the Rain
  • GoldenEye
  • I Don’t Wanna Lose You
  • Great Spirits
  • Proud Mary
  • Addicted to Love (Live)
    Disc Two:
  • In Your WIldest Dreams
  • Private Dancer
  • Why Must We Wait Until Tonight
  • Typical Male
  • Tonight
  • Complicated Disaster
  • On Silent Wings
  • Something Special
  • We Don’t Need Another Hero
  • It’s Only Love
  • Cose Della Vita
  • Steamy Windows
  • Paradise is Here
  • What’s Love got to do With It?
  • Better Be Good to Me
  • Two People
  • Something Beautiful Remains

Background Information

This two disc compilation of songs from Tina Turner was released in late 2004 / early 2005 and contained the song “GoldenEye” performed by Turner, but written by Bono and the Edge. The song was originally recorded for the soundtrack of the movie, “GoldenEye”, and it was also released as a single and a promotional single.

The 1995 movie “GoldenEye” was a high profile relaunch of the James Bond franchise, and the first film with Irishman Pierce Brosnan in the title role as James Bond. It was the seventeenth film in the James Bond series. The movie was a huge success for the Bond-series. The title track of the film, “GoldenEye” was performed by Tina Turner. The movie was named for Bond creator, Ian Fleming’s estate “Goldeneye” located in Jamaica. The estate was sold in 1977 to Island Records executive Chris Blackwell, and U2 has been known to have stayed at the estate in the past.

Bono and The Edge were approached to write the title track for the new Bond movie, “Goldeneye” and while they agreed to write the song, they declined to perform the song. Bono worked with The Edge to compose “GoldenEye”. It was suggested that Tina Turner would be the perfect vocalist for the song but she initially declined enjoying a short period of retirement after a grueling tour. Demo versions of the song were sent to Turner with Bono performing the vocal role she would eventually fill. Tina Turner relates the experience of being chased to perform the song: “I just couldn’t really feel it at the time. Then I got a hand-written letter from Bono saying, `Tina, trust me, it’s rough at the moment, but it’s going to be great.’ I had to believe him. We live very near each other in the south of France, so he and Edge came up and finished it with me. Nellie Hooper came in with the arrangement. All of a sudden the song became. It was a matter of communicating and believing in each other. I’m looking forward to working with them again.”

Both Bono and The Edge are listed as executive producers on the song on the credits for the single. The Edge also performs on the song, and although present, Bono does not. The version included on this compilation of hits by Tina Turner is the same version which appears on the soundtrack album, although shortened by a couple of seconds due to some silence being trimmed at the start and end of the track.

A musical sequence opens the film, over which the song by Turner is played. A separate video was also filmed for GoldenEye which features Turner performing the song in a white dress in a passage way that is built to look like a golden eye, mixed with images of an eye, leopards, and images from the film. “GoldenEye” would also be released on Turner’s album “Wildest Dreams” in 1996, on the soundtrack “GoldenEye” and also as a single and a promotional single.

In 2010, with the release of the Nintendo 64 game, “GoldenEye 007” the song was re-recorded by Nicole Scherzinger of the Pussycat Dolls. The song has not been released in any format outside of the game.

Liner Notes

Written by Paul Hewson / Dave Evans. Produced by Nellee Hooper. Executive Producers: Dave Evans and Paul Hewson.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases