"All That You Can't Leave Behind" - U2

Remastered Album (2017-2020 Editions)

Track Listing:

Additional Tracks (Deluxe Versions):

Additional Variations (Edits):

The main track listing shown here comes from the “4-disc” digital version available on various streaming services and digital store fronts. The “Additional Variations” covers tracks found on the shorter 2-CD version, as well as the 5-CD and 11-LP collections where some additional fade ins and fade outs are used.

Background Information

All That You Can’t Leave Behind was first remastered by The Edge, with engineering by Scott Sedillo and additional work by Declan Gaffney. The initial remastering was done in 2017 and was first released as part of Apple’s MFiT (Mastered for iTunes) release of all of U2’s albums in May 2017. At the time, the release was only available through Apple. Pop and Rattle and Hum were also remastered at the same time. The digital download, available in iTunes, came with a newly created digital booklet as well in pdf format. This remaster includes “The Ground Beneath Her Feet” which was released as a bonus track in some regions.

In April 2018 All That You Can’t Leave Behind was released worldwide on 180GSM vinyl. The album used the 2017 remaster, was produced in Germany, and included a digital download of the songs. The releases in each country are the same, although the release in the United States has an additional sticker on the outside of the package announcing that the release was “Made in Germany”. Included in the vinyl is a large booklet, and recreations of the original artwork from 2000, and inner sleeve for the vinyl, as well as the before mentioned download card which gives access to the download in 44.1/16-bit quality from “The Sound of Vinyl”. The copyright on this release is 2017. At the same time All That You Can’t Leave Behind was reissued on vinyl, Universal also reissued the new remaster of Pop, as well as the 2009 remaster of “Wide Awake in America,” both on vinyl. All three were released on the same day. The 2017 release as part of the MFiT program still contains the dedication to Aung San Suu Kyi in the credits for “Walk On”. The 2018 release of this on vinyl has stripped this dedication out of the liner notes. The song is now dedicated to no one. While the 2017 digital release as part of the MFiT program did include “The Ground Beneath Her Feet”, it was not included on the 12-inch vinyl or the digital audio that was made available for download with the purchase of the vinyl in 2018.

In 2020, a 20th anniversary edition of the album was announced, and it has been announced as being remastered. The master appears to be the same mix done for the 2017 and 2018 releases, but additional tweaking has been done. For “Beautiful Day” for instance the volume is slightly higher than the original releases, and there’s a bit of change in the length of silence at the start of the track. The press release for the album states it is new, “The brand new remaster of the album is available as a 12-track version and includes an additional track.” This new 20th anniversary edition sees the 12-inch vinyl expanded to a two disc set and now includes “The Ground Beneath Her Feet.” That track is also featured on the single CD release, which is being done in a cardboard sleeve package. Several deluxe versions are also being offered with additional material from 2000. A two-CD set includes an 13-track edited show from Boston, taken from the Elevation tour in 2001. A five-CD box set including rarities, b-sides, a full version of the Elevation show (19-tracks) and remixes is also being issued with a special book of Anton Corbijn photography. All of the contents in the five-CD box are also available digitally and as an 11-disc vinyl box set.

The box sets of the 2020 release are both being produced in Europe and will be sent worldwide. The Japan box set on CD will include an insert in the Japanese language, but will otherwise be the same as what is available in other regions. The 1-CD and 2-CD pressings are also being produced in a central location (Czech Republic) and sold in many regions (Canada, USA, Mexico, UK, Europe, Argentina, etc. have been confirmed.) Japan will have their own pressings for the 1-CD and 2-CD pressings.

There are four different versions of the live material that is included with the set. There is a 13-track edited version of the show on the 2-CD release. There is also a longer 19-track version of the show, which appears in three versions, digital, on two CDs, and on three LPs. On the CD and LP versions there are fade outs at the start / end of each disc which are not present on the digital release.

New tracks for the deluxe box set include four remixes, two of “New York” by Black Dog, one of “Walk On” by Wyclef Jean, and one of “When I Look at the World” by Chris Heaney. The set also includes many tracks never widely released beyond fan club releases and The Complete U2. It is also the first time that the live material from the Boston show has been released in an audio format, but it has previously been released in video format.

On May 1, 2021, months after the initial release, streaming services and download stores received an upgraded version of the album. Prior, the high resolution version was available at 24-bits and 44.1kHz, from October 31 onwards. But on May 1, a newer version was made available at 24-bits and 96kHz. This newer version is available where high resolution audio can be purchased, and has also been used for new streaming versions at sites like Tidal.

Liner Notes

Original Album:
Original mastering by Arnie Acosta at The Mastering Lab, Los Angeles.
Audio Post Production Manager and Technical Guru: Cheryl Engels at Partial Productions Inc.

2017 Album Remaster:
Directed by The Edge. Remastering Engineering by Scott Sedillo at Bernie Grundman Mastering. Audio Master Transfer Director: Declan Gaffney
Project Production Manager on behalf of Island Records / UMC: Lisa Power. Archive Manager: Rebecca Coffey

2020 Remaster:
Directed by The Edge. Remastered by Scott Sedillo at Bernie Grundman Mastering.
Project Production Manager on behalf of Island Records / UMC: Lisa Power. Archive Manager: Rebecca Coffey


Sleeve designed at Four5One Design, Dublin by Shaughn McGrath
Art Direction by Steve Averill
Cover and Interior photography: Anton Corbijn.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases