"Brendan Byrne Arena (Rutherford, NJ) May 15, 1987" - U2

Live Album

Track Listing:

Further Track Listing Information

This release also included:
  • Banter (00:26) [Between Maggie’s Farm and C’Mon Everybody]
  • Banter (00:47) [Between Trip Through Your Wires and Bad]
  • Banter (00:54) [Between October and Springhill Mining Disaster]
  • Crowds (00:51) [Between New Year’s Day and Pride]
  • Encore Break (03:35) [Between Pride and With or Without You]
  • Encore Break (02:44) [After Gloria]
  • Banter (00:39) [Before “40”]

Background Information

Wolfgang’s Vault is a private music company established in 2003. The company restores recordings in audio and video format and releases them for streaming or for download. The company also sells music memorabilia. The basis of the collection was the collection of the late Bill Graham, born Wolodia “Wolfgang” Grajonca. Graham was a well known music promoter and at times was the promoter for U2 in the USA. This is not the same Bill Graham who was instrumental in the early days of U2 in Dublin.

In 2002, William Sagan bought Bill Graham’s archive from Clear Channel for an estimated $5 million, and immediately set up “Wolfgang’s Vault”. The website started offering recordings by many artists that Graham had promoted and recorded for sale. Other artists such as U2 were streamed on the site but had no recordings for sale. The issue many had was Sagan wasn’t sharing royalties from the recordings with those who had performed the work. In 2006, a group of musicians headed by the Grateful Dead sued Wolfgang’s Vault. In 2008 a settlement was reached with the Grateful Dead, Carlos Santana, Led Zeppelin, The Doors and the estate of Janis Joplin, and those artists had entered into a licensing agreement pertaining to the sale of merchandise.

The Vault had been streaming U2 recordings, all in video since 2007. On December 4, 2012, an audio performance by U2 was put up on the site and made available for purchase for $5.00. Since that time a number of recordings have been released, including this set, a 1987 concert in East Rutherford NJ. The performance from the next night in East Rutherford has also been released separately. U2 performed for five nights in East Rutherford, but only these two have been released through the Concert Vault to date. The full list of releases is as follows:

  • Paradise (Boston MA) Mar 6, 1981 – Set 2 [Released June 22, 2015]
  • Orpheum Theatre (Boston MA) Nov 14, 1981 [Released June 16, 2015]
  • Brendan Byrne Arena (Rutherford NJ) May 15, 1987 [Released April 3, 2015]
  • Brendan Byrne Arena (Rutherford NJ) May 16, 1987 [Released April 3, 2015]
  • Boston Garden (Boston MA) Sep 17, 1987 [Released August 10, 2013]
  • Boston Garden (Boston MA) Sep 18, 1987 [Released December 4, 2012]
  • Foxboro Stadium (Foxboro MA) Sep 22, 1987 [Released August 10, 2013]
  • Madison Square Garden (New York NY) Sep 28, 1987 [Released March 29, 2013]

This particular release suffers some error in the recording and “Where the Streets Have No Name” and the first performance of “Trip Through Your Wires” are both incomplete on this recording. During the performance Bono includes a number of snippets not listed in the track listing above including “Riders on the Storm” in “Exit”, “Cold Turkey” and “School’s Out” during “Maggie’s Farm” and “Ruby Tuesday” and “Sympathy for the Devil” during “Bad”. The full set is 30 tracks long including a number of tracks which are just Bono speaking, or just crowd noise. The mp3 files are encoded at 320kbps.

It is unknown what legal agreements U2 may have made with Wolfgang’s Vault, but it is expected that there may be one in place, as they are now offering recordings for sale as opposed to just streaming music as they had in the past. Wolfgang’s Vault has also been known as “The Vault” and “Concert Vault”.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases