"The Joshua Tree Collection (Album Sampler)" - U2

Promotional Release

Track Listing:

Background Information

“The Joshua Tree Album Sampler” was a promotional item released by Island Records in the UK. This box contained five separate 7-inch single, each housed in a picture sleeve. The sleeves were identical, featuring the cover of “The Joshua Tree” but each did feature the item number of the release across the top i.e. “Album Sampler No.1”. Each 7-inch featured two tracks from “The Joshua Tree”. Every song from “The Joshua Tree” with the exception of “With or Without You” can be found on these samplers.

Each sampler is labeled with an item number. U26-1 contains “Where the Streets Have No Name” backed with “Red Hill Mining Town”. U26-2 contains “Trip Through Your Wires” backed with “Running to Stand Still”. U26-3 contains “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” backed with “One Tree Hill”. U26-4 contains “Exit” and “Mothers of the Disappeared”. Finally, U26-5 contains “In God’s Country” and “Bullet the Blue Sky”.

Two versions of this set are known to have been released. One had plain white labels with plain text, and the Island Records logo at the bottom of the label. A second release featured a large grey “A” on the label behind the text. A very rare mispressing of this set leaves “Where the Streets Have No Name” off of the first single, and instead has “Red Hill Mining Town” pressed on both sides with the “A” label.

A number of the singles exist outside of the set, so it is probably the case where more singles were made than boxes, and the additional singles were used individually for promotion.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases