"100% Christmas & New Year's Party" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing

Disc One:

  • “Do They Know It’s Christmas?” – Band Aid
  • “When A Child is Born” – Johnny Mathis
  • “Walking in the Air” – Aled Jones
  • “A Winter’s Tale” – David Essex
  • “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” – Vanessa Williams
  • “Winter Wonderland” – Doris Day
  • “Let it Snow!” – Andy Williams
  • “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” – Frank Sinatra
  • “Peace on Earth / Little Drummer Boy” – David Bowie & Bing Crosby
  • “Fairytale of New York” – The Pogues featuring Kirsty MacColl
  • “Stop the Cavalry” – Jona Lewie
  • “I Believe in Father Christmas” – Greg Lake
  • “The Christmas Song” – Ella Fitzgerald
  • “Merry Christmas Everyone” – Shakin’ Stevens
  • “I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday” – Roy Wood
  • “Rockin’ Robin” – Michael Jackson
  • “White Christmas” – Louis Armstrong
  • “The Holly & The Ivy” – St. Paul’s Cathedral Choir

Disc Two:

  • “Three Lions” – Lightning Seeds & Baddiel & Skinner
  • “Love Shack” – B-52s
  • “Macarena” – Los Del Mar
  • “Things Can Only Get Better” – D:Ream
  • “All That She Wants” – Ace of Base
  • “Saturday Night” – Whigfield
  • “I Will Survive” – Gloria Gaynor
  • “Come on Eileen” – Dexy’s Midnight Runners
  • “Dizzy” – Vic Reeves & The Wonder Stuff
  • “I’m A Believer” – The Monkees
  • “Shout” – Lulu and the Luvvers
  • “Wonderwall” – The Mike Flowers Pops
  • “Relight My Fire” – Dan Hartman
  • “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” – Cyndi Lauper
  • “Relax” – Frankie Goes to Hollywood
  • “Y.M.C.A.” – Village People
  • “I’m the Leader of the Gang” – Gary Glitter
  • “Tiger Feet” – Mud
  • “Can Can” – Bad Manners
  • “Do the Conga” – Black Lace
  • “Too Spicy” – Hotbox
  • “Auld Lang Syne” – Joe Longthorne

Background Information

A boxed set, available either in cassette or CD. The cassette version has two cassettes in an outer box, and the CD version has two CDs in an outer box. The release was compiled by Telstar Records, a British label that often produced compilations featuring tracks licensed on a track by track basis, such as this one.

The first disc celebrates Christmas, while the second is a party disc of favourites to celebrate New Year’s Eve. The U2 connection comes in with “Do They Know it’s Christmas?” which opens the first disc. Bono sings on the track, and Adam Clayton provides bass guitar on the track.

The version of “Do They Know it’s Christmas?” is an edited version of the track, fading out significantly earlier than the single version of the song.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases