"50 Years of the Greatest Hit Singles" - Various Artist


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing

Disc One:

  • Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen
  • Imagine – John Lennon
  • Candle In The Wind – Elton John
  • I Heard It Through The Grapevine – Marvin Gaye
  • Good Vibrations – The Beach Boys
  • Waterloo Sunset – The Kinks
  • Baker Street – Gerry Rafferty
  • American Pie – Don McLean
  • The Young Ones – Cliff Richard & The Shadows
  • You Can’t Hurry Love – The Supremes
  • Dancing Queen – Abba
  • House Of Fun – Madness
  • Teenage Kicks – The Undertones
  • Going Underground – The Jam
  • Layla – Derek And The Dominos
  • Heroes – David Bowie
  • Another Brick In The Wall (Part 2) – Pink Floyd
  • Mull Of Kintyre – Paul McCartney & Wings
  • A Whiter Shade Of Pale – Procol Harum
  • Bridge Over Troubled Water – Simon & Garfunkel
  • Unchained Melody – The Righteous Brothers
  • Here In My Heart – Al Martino

Disc Two:

  • Where The Streets Have No Name – U2
  • Don’t Stand So Close To Me – The Police
  • Under Pressure – Queen & David Bowie
  • Tainted Love – Soft Cell
  • Relax – Frankie Goes To Hollywood
  • Don’t You Want Me – The Human League
  • Come On Eileen – Dexy’s Midnight Runners
  • Karma Chameleon – Culture Club
  • Heart Of Glass – Blondie
  • Don’t Look Back In Anger – Oasis
  • The Drugs Don’t Work – The Verve
  • Angels – Robbie Williams
  • Nothing Compares 2 U – Sinead O’Connor
  • Whole Again – Atomic Kitten
  • Love Is All Around – Wet Wet Wet
  • Baby One More Time – Britney Spears
  • Wannabe – Spice Girls
  • Can’t Get You Out of My Head – Kylie Minogue
  • Tragedy – Steps
  • Do They Know Its Christmas? – Band Aid

Background Information

This compilation of songs was put together in 2002 by various labels, to celebrate 50 years of the official charts in the UK. This included many hits from the fifty years that the chart had operated, with a focus on the later years of the chart.

There are two U2 related songs here. Disc two opens with “Where the Streets Have No Name” and the version used is the same that was used on The Best of 1980-1990 four years earlier. It’s a shortened version of the song, as are others on the compilation. The second song is a short edit of the song “Do They Know it’s Christmas” which featured Adam Clayton and Bono. This version cuts out some of the instrumental ending of the song, and takes the song down to 03:30 overall.

This version of the CD is often called the Gold Collection, as the following year a second compilation was released with a grey cover called the Platinum Collection. That follow up edition includes U2’s “Sweetest Thing”.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases