"America: A Tribute to Heroes" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

Disc One:
  • My City of Ruin – Bruce Springsteen (4:35)
  • Love’s In Need of Love – Stevie Wonder (4:47)
  • Peace on Earth / Walk On (Live from London, September 21, 2001) – U2 (5:26)
  • There Will Come a Day – Faith Hill (3:46)
  • I Won’t Back Down – Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers (3:53)
  • Hero – Enrique Iglesias (4:31)
  • Imagine – Neil Young (3:12)
  • Someday We’ll All Be Free – Alicia Keys (4:51)
  • Wish You Were Here – Limp Bizkit / John Rzeznik (3:43)
  • New York State of Mind – Billy Joel (6:01)
    Disc Two:
  • I Believe in Love – Dixie Chicks (4:21)
  • Everyday – Dave Matthews (3:31)
  • Redemption Song – Wyclef Jean (4:10)
  • Hero – Mariah Carey (4:24)
  • Livin’ On a Prayer – Bon Jovi (4:52)
  • Safe and Sound – Sheryl Crow (5:03)
  • Fragile – Sting (2:44)
  • Long Road – Eddie Vedder (4:17)
  • Bridge Over Troubled Waters – Paul Simon (4:37)
  • God Bless America – Celine Dion (3:47)
  • America the Beautiful – Willie Nelson (4:40)

Background Information

In the wake of attacks made against the USA on September 11, 2001, a telethon was organized to assist with the aftermath of the attacks. The telethon was created by the heads of the four major US television networks, and featured musical performances, celebrities manning the telephones and was aired uninterrupted and commercial free. The telethon took place on September 21, 2001.

U2’s performance was broadcast from a studio space in London via Satellite. Joining U2 for the performance was former Eurythmic, David A Stewart on guitar, as well as Natalie Imbruglia, the Edge’s partner Morleigh Steinberg, and Medhi Parisot, a musician from the South of France. They opened with “Peace on Earth” before continuing into “Walk On”. This performance of the song garnered U2 a Grammy nomination for “Best Rock Performance by a Duo or a Group” at the 2003 awards. In 2004, Rolling Stone Magazine named the entire telethon “one of the 50 moments that changed rock and roll”. The format of the telethon would inspire the format of later telethons such as “Shelter from the Storm” (2005 for Hurricane Katrina) and “Hope for Haiti Now” (2010 for the Haiti Earthquake).

This album is compiled from performances done on September 21, 2001 done for a television tribute. All proceeds from this album were for the September 11 Telethon Fund. The compilation was a collaborative effort between various labels including Universal, Sony, BMG, EMI and Warner Brothers. A DVD of the performances was also released at the same time as the audio CDs.

Liner Notes

Peace on Earth / Walk On: Written by U2.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases