"April 1989 Releases" - Various Artists

Promotional Release

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • I Got the Will – Etta James
  • Slow Road – Kevin McDermott Orchestra
  • Man of Misfortune – Gavin Friday and the Man Seezer
  • Too Hot to Move – The Triffids
  • Calling You – Jevetta Steele
  • Take It Off the Top – Danny Thompson
  • Primpin – Salif Keita
  • Hard to Handle – Toots
  • Scandal – Don Drummond
  • Judge Not – Robert Marley
  • Freedom Train – Toots
  • Shakey Ground – Etta James
  • Diamond – Kevin McDermott Orchestra
  • I Want Your Love – Paul Rutherford
  • Falling Over You – The Triffids
  • God Part II (The Hard Metal Dance Mix) – U2

Background Information

This compilation promo featured tracks from Island Records releases in April of 1989. It included tracks from Island Records, as well as related labels such as Mango, 4th and Broadway, and Antilles.

The U2 track included here is the remix of “God Part II” — The Hard Metal Dance Mix, that was starting to be promoted as a b-side to the single “When Love Comes to Town”. Also of note to U2 fans is this compilation includes a track from Gavin Friday, long time friend of the band. His song “Man of Misfortune” is featured here, but has no U2 content.

The promotional CD was issued in a slimline CD case, with an insert which had the labels printed on the front cover, and the track listings on the inside flap.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases