"BBC Radio 2 - The Piano Room" - Various Artists


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

Disc One:

  • This Year’s Love (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Ed Sheeran (02:35)
  • Stay With Me (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Sam Smith (03:25)
  • Let Her Down Easy (Live from Prague Opera House, 2011) – George Michael (03:41)
  • God Only Knows (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Michael Buble (03:15)
  • Viva La Vida (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Coldplay (03:35)
  • Somewhere Only We Know (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Keane (03:45)
  • Every Breaking Wave (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – U2 (04:27)
  • Lady Madonna (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Paul McCartney (03:20)
  • Practicial Arrangement (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Sting (03:10)
  • Georgia On My Mind (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Annie Lennox (04:09)
  • Fly Me to the Moon (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Gregory Porters (02:28)
  • Waiting (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Norah Jones and Jamie Cullum (02:45)
  • Goodbye My Lover (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – James Blunt (04:23)
  • Hallelujah (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Rufus Wainwright (04:25)
  • Here I Go Again (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott (03:19)
  • Make You Feel My Love (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Elkie Brooks (04:44)
  • Life on Mars (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Rick Wakeman (03:04)

Disc Two

  • Read All About It, Pt. III (Live from BBC Radio Theatre, 2015) – Emeli Sandi (06:17)
  • How Long Will I Love You (Live from the Royal Albert Hall, 2016) – Ellie Goulding (02:24)
  • Just the Way you Are (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Gregory Porter (04:41)
  • With or Without You (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – The Shires (02:58)
  • New York (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Snow Patrol (03:58)
  • Lippy Kids (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Elbow (05:50)
  • Skinny Love (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Birdy (03:31)
  • Symphony (Live from Glastonbury, 2017) – Clean Bandit (03:26)
  • All Time Love (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Will Young (03:56)
  • You’ve Got A Friend (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – MIKA (03:28)
  • I Can’t Make You Love Me (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Shane Filan (03:30)
  • Only You (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Oh Wonder (02:37)
  • How Long (Live from BBC Radio 2, 2016) – Paul Carrack (02:52)
  • Solitaire (Live from BBC Radio 2) – Neil Sedaka (03:39)
  • Such a Night (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Dr. John (06:36)
  • Here Comes the Sun (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Peter Bence (02:56)
  • Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood (Recorded for BBC Radio 2) – Jamie Cullum (02:50)

Background Information

In 2010 Elton John donated one of his favorite Yamaha pianos to the BBC station, Radio 2. The piano, a Yamaha DC 7, labeled the Elton John Radio 2 Piano, is in use at Radio 2 in London, and when not in use is displayed in the reception area. The instrument is used by artists for in studio performances at the station, and many of the tracks featured on this compilation are recorded on that piano. The BBC now has a program on Radio 2 often hosted by Jo Whiley called “BBC Radio 2’s Piano Room” where artists come in and play on Elton John’s piano, often performing one of their own songs, and quite often one of Elton John’s.

The U2 track on this compilation is a performance of “Every Breaking Wave” performed during the 2014 promotional tour for Songs of Innocence. They appeared on Jo Whiley’s show at the time (not The Piano Room at the time) live in the Maida Vale Studios in London. The whole band were in the studio and they played five songs, “The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone),” “Every Breaking Wave,” “Cedarwood Road,” “Song for Someone” and “Stuck in a Moment.” A string quartet joined the band during this performance for a number of the songs, including “Every Breaking Wave.” The studios are located in London, UK.

The BBC has a long history of releasing U2 recordings. Below are some of the other releases over the years that have featured U2:

This compilation of songs also includes a performance by The Shires, covering U2’s “With or Without You” on the second disc. The country duo do a stripped back acoustic version of the song, performed in studio in July 2017.

The UPC for this release is 0600753802076, and the catalog number is 5380207.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases