"Bringing it All Back Home" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

See notes below before purchasing as these sets have varied greatly over the years especially the Hummingbird releases of 1999 / 2000:
Disc 1:
  • April the Third – Donal Lunny (Featuring The Edge)
  • My Love is in America – Dolores Keane with Mick Hanly
  • A Stór Mo Chroi – Rita & Sara Keane
  • When First Into This Country – The Lee Valley String Band
  • Carolina Star – The Lee Valley String Band
  • Kilkelly – Mick Moloney, Jimmy Keane, Robbie O’Connell
  • Thousands Are Sailing – Phillip Chevron
  • The Bucks Of Oranmore – The Hughes’ Band (Featuring Adam Clayton)
  • Rose Connolly – The Everly Brothers
  • Lakes Of Ponchartrain – Hothouse Flowers
  • Humors Of Galway – De Dannan
  • Sonny – Emmylou Harris, Dolores Keane, Mary Black
  • Grey Funnel Line – Emmylou Harris, Dolores Keane, Mary Black
  • Nothing But The Same Old Story – Paul Brady
  • Kevin Griffins – Sharron Shannon, Mary Custy, Eoin O’Neill
  • No Frontiers – Mary Black
  • You Couldn’t Have Come At A Better Time – Luka Bloom
    Disc 2:
  • Im Long Me Measaim – Peadar O Riada and Cor Cuil Aodh
  • Carolan’s Farewell To Music – Maire Ni Chathasaigh
  • An T-Aiseiri – Noirin Ni Riain and The Monks of Glenstall Abbey
  • Oilean / Island – Michael O’Suilleabhain
  • Idir Eatarthu / Between Worlds – Michael O’Suilleabhain
  • Mischievous Ghost – Elvis Costello and Mary Coughlan
  • Equinox – Davey Spillane
  • Blue – An Emotional Fish with Maire Ni Bhraonain
  • St. Ann’s Reel – Ricky Skaggs, Paddy Glackin, Mark O’Connor
  • The Dimming Of The Day – Richard Thompson with Mary Black and Dolores Keane
  • Cooler at the Edge – Sonny Conde
  • Glen Road To Carrick – Paddy Glackin, Seamus Glackin, Kevin Glackin
  • Don’t Let Our Love Die – The Everly Brothers
  • Easter Snow – Catherine Ennis, Liam O’Flynn
  • All Messed Up – Pierce Turner
  • Tunes – Roger Sherlock, Bobby Casey, John Bowe, Tom Nagle, Eilish Byrne, Siobhan O’Donnell
  • Western Highway – Maura O’Connell
  • A Song For The Life – The Waterboys
  • The Parting Glass – The Voice Squad
  • A Stor Mo Chroi – Liam O’Flynn
    Alternative Tracks:
  • Shoals of Herring – Clancy Brothers
  • Johnny Don’t Go to Ballincollig – John Spillane
  • The Japanese Hornpipe – Cooney and Begley
  • Waltzing’s For Dreamers – Richard Thompson
    vPort Na BPucai – Tony McMahon
  • Gone Girl – Cowboy “Jack” Clement
  • Moran’s Return – Noilaig Casey / Arty McGlynn
  • All Messed Up – Pierce Turner
  • Operator – De Dannan and Friends

Background Information

In 1991 the BBC produced a TV series which reflected on the journey of Irish traditional music from it’s earliest history through to the present day. The music from this show was released as the album, “Bringing it All Back Home”. The album was produced by Donal Lunny. At the same time a book was released to accompany the album and the television series. The music was released as a two-CD set, or a three part vinyl set.

There are two tracks featuring U2 on this release. The first is April the Third which features the Edge on electric guitar. He is credited here as “A.N. O’Ther” or “another” but later releases credit the Edge in the credits of the album “appearing courtesy of Island Records”. When shown on the show, the song opened with a scene of birds flying around the Brooklyn Bridge before cutting to the gathered musicians playing the track. The Edge is present in the video during this performance with long hair and bandana. The video then fades to scenes of Ireland before returning to finish on the musicians in studio. The second track with U2 involvement is “The Bucks of Oranmore” by the Hughes’ Band. This band is made up of Alec Finn of De Danann, Adam Clayton of U2, Martin O’Connor, Steve Wickham from the Waterboys and others performing a traditional Irish song. In the video accompanying this song, the musicians appear to be gathered in a pub sitting in a semi-circle as the pub goers watch them perform.

Bono also participated in the television program, and is witnessed singing a new song “Wild Irish Rose”, with accompaniment by The Edge and Donal Lunny in a recording studio lit by candle. This song was never included on any of the audio releases of “Bringing it All Back Home” and remains unreleased in any audio format.

Be wary when searching for this on CD. On the individually released CDs from Valley Entertainment / Hummingbird Records, the track featuring the Edge and the track featuring Adam Clayton are on two separate CDs, unlike the original pressings which featured these on the same disc. The album was initially released in 2001 by BBC Records, and was re-released in France in 1993 on Keltia Music under the name “Terres Irlandaises”, and was re-released again in 2001 on Valley Entertainment / Hummingbird Records as three separate CDs.

Liner Notes

April the Third:
This is a new dance tune written by Donal Lunny. It is the theme music for “Bringing it all Back Home” and mixes the old rhythms of Irish Dance Music with modern rhythmic and percussive elements. The title comes from the fact that it was written on that date, and recorded in Ringsend Road Studios, Dublin, on Tuesday April 10th, with Donal Lunny on bouzouki and bodhran; Hossaim Ramsey, percussion, Noel Eccles, percussion; Tony Molloy, bass; A. N. O’Ther (The Edge), electric guitar; Anto Drennan, electric guitar; Nollaig Casey, fiddle; Ronan Browne, uiliann pipes; James Delaney, keyboards.

The Bucks of Oranmore:
Traditional arrangement by the Hughes’ Band.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases