"Faraway, So Close!" - Various Artists

Soundtrack Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Faraway So Close! – Nick Cave (3:56)
  • Stay (Faraway So Close) (Soundtrack Mix) – U2 (6:06)
  • Why Can’t I Be Good – Lou Reed (4:22)
  • Chaos – Herbert Gronemeyer (4:51)
  • Travellin’ On – Simon Bonney (3:49)
  • The Wanderer (Soundtrack Mix) – U2 and Johnny Cash (5:16)
  • Cassiel’s Song – Nick Cave (3:36)
  • Slow Tango – Jane Siberry (3:29)
  • Call Me – The House of Love (4:08)
  • All God’s Children – Simon Bonney (4:42)
  • Tightrope – Laurie Anderson (3:18)
  • Speak My Language – Laurie Anderson (3:36)
  • Victory – Laurent Petitgand (4:06)
  • Gorbi – Laurent Petitgand (2:51)
  • Konrad 1st Part – Laurent Petitgand (1:56)
  • Konrad 2nd Part – Laurent Petitgand (3:41)
  • Firedream – Laurent Petitgand (3:01)
  • Allegro – Laurent Petitgand (3:27)
  • Engel – Laurent Petitgand (4:44)
  • Mensch – Laurent Petitgand (1:38)

Background Information

“Faraway, So Close!” was a movie directed by Wim Wenders, and a sequel to his “Wings of Desire”. The movie was released in Europe in September of 1993, and the United States in December of the same year. The movie inspired U2 to write the song “Stay (Faraway, So Close!)” and even inspiring the title of the song, tying it to the film. U2 had worked with Wenders on soundtracks before, and would again after this movie, contributing songs to “Until the End of the World” (1991), “Beyond the Clouds” (1995), “The End of Violence” (1997), “The Million Dollar Hotel” (2000), and “Don’t Come Knocking” (2005).

U2 gave two songs to Wenders to use on the soundtrack of the film, “Stay (Faraway, So Close!)” of course, and they also gave “The Wanderer”, a song U2 had recorded with Johnny Cash. Both songs had appeared on U2’s album “Zooropa” released in June 1993. What is remarkable with this film soundtrack is that neither song is the same version that appeared on “Zooropa”. In both cases the songs differ from the album version. Both are longer recordings. “The Wanderer” features an additional verse of lyrics by Johnny Cash which are not included on the album version, and the soundtrack version is 30s longer than that found on the album. “Stay” features a slightly different musical track, and Bono sings additional “do do do’s” throughout the song. The version of “Stay” on the soundtrack is an additional minute in length. For any fan of the songs it is highly recommended that you pick up a copy of the soundtrack if it can be found.

The soundtrack album was released in September 1993 worldwide, with the exception of the United States. The release for the United States came in January 1994, which was due to the late release of the film in the USA. When the soundtrack was released in the US, it was with a very different cover than that found elsewhere.

“Stay (Faraway, So Close!)” was nominated for a Golden Globe Award as Best Original Song for a Motion Picture, for its use in this soundtrack. “Stay” was released as a single in the fall of 1993 as the third single from the album “Zooropa”.

Liner Notes

Stay (Faraway So Close!): Music by U2. Words by Bono. Produced by Flood, Brian Eno and The Edge.
The Wanderer: Music by U2. Words by Bono. Produced by Flood, Brian Eno and The Edge.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases