"Get Up! Stand Up! Highlights from the Human Rights Concerts 1986-1998" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

Disc One:
  • Redemption Song – Bob Geldof and Steven Van Zandt
  • Now That We’ve Found Love – Third World
  • Love and Affection – Joan Armatrading
  • Muevete – Ruben Blades (with Carlos Santant and Fela Kuti)
  • Speak / That’s What Happened – Miles Davis
  • Walk on the Wild Side – Lou Reed
  • Shock the Monkey – Peter Gabriel
  • Run to You – Bryan Adams
  • Summer of ’69 – Bryan Adams
  • MLK / Pride – U2
  • Sunday Bloody Sunday – U2
  • Message in a Bottle – The Police
  • Every Breath You Take – The Police
  • Talkin’ ‘bout a Revolution – Tracy Chapman
  • Sledgehammer – Peter Gabriel
    Disc Two:
  • Don’t Stand So Close to Me – Sting
  • Born in the USA – Bruce Springsteen
  • I’m on Fire – Bruce Springsteen
  • Bailando, Bailando – Inti-Illimani
  • Jungle Blues – Wynton Marsalis
  • Lives in the Balance – Jackson Browne
  • Nothing Compares 2U – Sinead O’Connor
  • No Surrender – Bruce Springsteen
  • Fast Car – Tracy Chapman
  • Hand in My Pocket – Alanis Morissette
  • Shaking the Tree – Peter Gabriel & Youssou N’Dour
  • Rock and Roll – Jimmy Page & Robert Plant
  • Karma Police – Radiohead
  • Bones – Radiohead
  • Get Up, Stand Up – Bruce Springsteen, Peter Gabriel, Youssou N’Dour, Tracy Chapman

Background Information

In early 2013, the album “Get Up! Stand Up! Highlights from the Human Rights Concerts 1986-1998” was released in the UK and Europe. On the CD release were three songs taken from U2’s appearance at a concert benefiting Amnesty International, held June 15, 1986 in East Rutherford, NJ. The album featured “MLK” and “Pride” tracked together as one song. It also featured “Sunday Bloody Sunday”. The CD featured a selection of tracks from other artists, not only from this 1986 concert, but from a number of other concerts held at various times for Amnesty International. At the same time, Eagle Rock also issued a single disc DVD of some of the same material found on the CD. At the time of the release, there was no information given that there was further release plans for this material.

However, in the Fall of 2013, came a number of other releases under the name “¬°Released! The Human Rights Concerts”. That Fall release would re-release the same tracks as “Get Up! Stand Up!” as well as a number of additional U2 tracks across a number of formats.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases