"Gold & Platinum Volume Five" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Janey, Don’t Lose Your Heart – Bruce Springsteen
  • The Valley Road – Bruce Hornsby & The Range
  • Beds Are Burning – Midnight Oil
  • Desire – U2
  • Shine Like It Does – INXS
  • In Your Room – The Bangles
  • Wait – White Lion
  • Say You Will – Foreigner
  • Superstitious – Europe
  • Learning to Fly – Pink Floyd
  • Heaven Knows – Robert Plant
  • Kiss Me Deadly – Lita Ford
  • I’m Not Your Man – Tommy Conwell and The Young Ramblers
  • Hippy Hippy Shake – The Georgia Satellites

Background Information

This compilation is a late 1980s compilation released in the United States on both vinyl and CD. The compilation collected hit tracks from a variety of artists. The U2 song included is “Desire” and it is the standard version of the song.

Perhaps of note is that the front cover uses a photo of U2 in which The Edge was present, but for the cover he is cut out of the photo.

The pressings of this release were manufactured by Columbia House in conjunction with CBS Records. This perhaps was an effort of Columbia House to get into producing some original content for the record club.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases