"Grammy Nominees 2002" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Track Listing:

  • Video – India.Arie
  • Fallin’ – Alicia Keys
  • Ms. Jackson – Outkast
  • Drops Of Jupiter – Train
  • Walk On – U2
  • Honest With Me – Bob Dylan
  • I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow – The Soggy Bottom Boys
  • I’m Like A Bird – Nelly Furtado
  • Babylon – David Gray
  • Fill Me In – Craig David
  • You Rock My World – Michael Jackson
  • I Want Love – Elton John
  • Still – Brian McKnight
  • Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight – James Taylor
  • Shape Of My Heart – Backstreet Boys
  • Superman (It’s Not Easy) – Five For Fighting
  • I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow – The Soggy Bottom Boys

Background Information

The “Grammy Nominees” is a series of compilation albums, with albums being released shortly before the airing of the annual Grammy Awards. In each case the compilation is made up of songs which have been nominated in some way for that years award ceremony. The compilations were started in 1995, and have been issued each year since that time. Other series have been attempted for rap and latin music, but those compilations have been discontinued at the time of the writing of this entry.

U2 appears on several of these compilations, starting with ““Grammy Nominees”, and including “Grammy Nominees 2002”, “Grammy Nominees 2005”, “Grammy Nominees 2006”, “Grammy Nominees 2008” and “Grammy Nominees 2010”.

The 2002 compilation was the second time U2 appeared on these compilations, and the album was released February 5, 2002. The awards ceremony was held on February 27, 2002. U2 was nominated for “Record of the Year” for “Walk On” and “Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocals” and “Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal” for “Elevation” and “Best Rock Album” for “All That You Can’t Leave Behind” all of which U2 won. They were also nominated for “Album of the Year” for “All That You Can’t Leave Behind” and “Song of the Year” for “Stuck in a Moment” which they did not win. On the compilation album “Walk On” is included, and it is the album version of the song which is used on the compilation.

Liner Notes

Walk On:
Music by U2. Produced by Daniel Lanois and Brian Eno. Vocals and guitar: Bono. Guitar, Piano and Vocals: The Edge. Bass: Adam Clayton. Drums and Percussion: Larry Mullen. Art Direction: Steve Averill. Design: Four 5 One Design, Dublin by Shaughn McGrath. Photography by Anton Corbijn.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases