"Grammy Nominees 2005" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Let’s Get It Started – The Black Eyed Peas
  • Here We Go Again – Ray Charles with Norah Jones
  • American Idiot – Green Day
  • Heaven – Los Lonely Boys
  • If I Ain’t Got You – Alicia Keys
  • Through The Wire – Kanye West
  • She Will Be Loved – Maroon 5
  • You Had Me – Joss Stone
  • Redneck Woman – Gretchen Wilson
  • The First Cut Is The Deepest – Sheryl Crow
  • Sunrise – Norah Jones
  • You Raise Me Up – Josh Groban
  • Daughters – John Mayer
  • Cinnamon Girl – Prince
  • Love’s Divine – Seal
  • My Immortal – Evanescence
  • Good Vibrations – Brian Wilson
  • Monkey To Man – Elvis Costello & The Imposters
  • Vertigo – U2
  • Ch-Check It Out (With Skit) (Clean) – Beastie Boys

Background Information

The “Grammy Nominees” is a series of compilation albums, with albums being released shortly before the airing of the annual Grammy Awards. In each case the compilation is made up of songs which have been nominated in some way for that years award ceremony. The compilations were started in 1995, and have been issued each year since that time. Other series have been attempted for rap and latin music, but those compilations have been discontinued at the time of the writing of this entry.

U2 appears on several of these compilations, starting with ““Grammy Nominees”, and including “Grammy Nominees 2002”, “Grammy Nominees 2005”, “Grammy Nominees 2006”, “Grammy Nominees 2008” and “Grammy Nominees 2010”.

The 2005 compilation was the third time U2 appeared on these compilations, and the album was released January 25, 2001. The awards ceremony was held on February 13, 2005. U2 was nominated for “Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal” and for “Best Rock Song” for “Vertigo”. They were also nominated for “Best Short Form Music Video” for “Vertigo”. U2 won all three awards. It is “Vertigo” which is featured here on the compilation album.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases