"Grammy Nominees 2008" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Justin Timberlake – What Goes Around…Comes Around (Interlude)
  • Amy Winehouse – Rehab
  • Beyonc√© – Irreplaceable
  • Foo Fighters – The Pretender
  • Maroon 5 – Makes Me Wonder
  • Feist – 1234
  • Bon Jovi – (You Want To) Make A Memory
  • Paul Mccartney – Dance Tonight
  • Christina Aguilera – Candyman
  • Nelly Furtado – Say It Right
  • Kanye West Featuring T-Pain – Good Life
  • Herbie Hancock – River Featuring Corinne Bailey Rae
  • Vince Gill (Guest Vocalist: Sheryl Crow) – What You Give Away
  • Carrie Underwood – Before He Cheats
  • Plain White T’s – Hey There Delilah
  • Corinne Bailey Rae – Like A Star
  • Green Day – Working Class Hero
  • Daughtry – It’s Not Over
  • Nickelback – If Everyone Cared
  • The White Stripes – Icky Thump
  • U2 – Instant Karma

Background Information

The “Grammy Nominees” is a series of compilation albums, with albums being released shortly before the airing of the annual Grammy Awards. In each case the compilation is made up of songs which have been nominated in some way for that years award ceremony. The compilations were started in 1995, and have been issued each year since that time. Other series have been attempted for rap and latin music, but those compilations have been discontinued at the time of the writing of this entry.

U2 appears on several of these compilations, starting with ““Grammy Nominees”, and including “Grammy Nominees 2002”, “Grammy Nominees 2005”, “Grammy Nominees 2006”, “Grammy Nominees 2008” and “Grammy Nominees 2010”.

The 2001 compilation was the fifth time U2 appeared on these compilations, and the album was released January 29, 2008. The awards ceremony was held on February 10, 2008. U2 was nominated for “Best Pop Performance by a Duo / Group With Vocals” for “Window in the Skies” and also for “Best Rock Performance by a Duo / Group with Vocals” for “Instant Karma”. U2 did not win either award. The performance of “Instant Karma” was taken from a John Lennon tribute album titled “Instant Karma: The Amnesty International Campaign to Save Darfur”. It is the same recording of “Instant Karma” that is used on this compilation, but here the song has been edited so it fades out five seconds earlier than the original leading to an overall shorter track length. The track “Working Class Hero” by Green Day contained on this album also was taken from “Instant Karma: The Amnesty International Campaign to Save Darfur”.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases