"Irish A-Z of Rock" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

CD One:

  • Thin Lizzy – “Whiskey In The Jar”
  • Paul Brady – “Nothing But The Same Old Story”
  • Hothouse Flowers – “Love Don’t Work This Way”
  • Van Morrison – “Brown-Eyed Girl”
  • Shane MacGowan and Nick Cave – “Wonderful World”
  • An Emotional Fish – “Celebrate”
  • Sinéad O’Connor – “Mandinka”
  • The Saw Doctors – “N. 17”
  • A House – “Endless Art”
  • The Frank And Walters – “This Is Not A Song”
  • Clannad and Bono – “In A Lifetime”
  • Christy Moore – “Lisdoonvarna”
  • Aslan – “This Is”
  • The Stunning – “Brewing Up A Storm”
  • That Petrol Emotion – “Sensitize”
  • Precious Stones – “Red Sky”
  • Phil Lynott – “Old Town”
  • Sharon Shannon – “The Monster Hop”
  • Mary Black – “No Frontiers”

CD Two:

  • The Undertones – “Teenage Kicks”
  • The Golden Horde – “100 Boys”
  • The Pale – “Dogs With No Tails”
  • Something Happens – “Hello, Hello, Hello, Hello, Hello (Petrol)”
  • Stiff Little Fingers – “Alternative Ulster”
  • The Pogues – “Dirty Old Town”
  • U2 – “Out Of Control”
  • Radiators From Space – “Television Screen”
  • The Stars Of Heaven – “Every Other Day”
  • Them – “Gloria”
  • The Boomtown Rats – “Lookin’ After No. 1”
  • The 4 Of Us – “Mary”
  • Rory Gallagher – “Tattoo’d Lady”
  • The Fat Lady Sings – “Fear And Favour”
  • Virgin Prunes – “Baby Turns Blue”
  • The Blades – “Ghost Of A Chance”
  • The Would Be’s – “I’m Hardly Ever Wrong”

Background Information

This collection of Irish musicians was put together by Solid Records and 2FM, and released in 1992. The album featured U2, and a number of acts associated with U2 over the years, including Hothouse Flowers, Sinead O’Connor, the Virgin Prunes, The Golden Horde and also included the song that Bono had recorded with Clannad, “In a Lifetime.”

U2’s contribution to the CD is “Out of Control,” but unlike the album version of the song, this version is edited so you cannot hear “Into the Heart”. On the album Boy, “Into the Heart” never fully fades out and the last notes of that song can be heard on the next track, right up until “Out of Control” kicks in. This is very faint and almost not noticeable, but it is present on various pressings of the CD. It runs from 0.102s on the French Pressing before “Out of Control” starts, right up to 0.550s on one of the early Australian pressings. There is no silence at the start of “Out of Control” it is the end of “Into the Heart” in all cases. Even on the 2008 remaster, the 0.114s before “Out of Control” kicks in is filled with the final notes of “Into the Heart”.

This version of “Out of Control” is edited to remove this piece of “Into the Heart.” Other than the removal of the music at the start of the track, music that belongs to “Into the Heart” this version is the same as the album version. A similar edit, with “Into the Heart” removed would also appear on 2003’s Intermission Soundtrack. The track runs 04:12 on this release Irish A-Z Rock, and is slightly longer in silence at the end and runs 04:15 on the soundtrack to Intermission. The mastering of the song on the Intermission soundtrack sees the volume turned up, and the mastering on the A-Z of Irish Rock is quieter.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases