"Island Life 1962-1987" - Various Artists

Promotional Release

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • My Boy Lollipop – Millie Small
  • While You See a Chance – Steve Winwood
  • All Right Now – Free
  • Get Up, Stand Up – Bob Marley and the Wailers
  • Pride (In the Name of Love) – U2
  • Montego Bay – Amazulu
  • Two Tribes – Frankie Goes to Hollywood
  • Pull Up to the Bumper – Grace Jones
  • Up Where We Belong – Joe Cocker / Jennifer Warnes
  • Addicted to Love – Robert Palmer
  • Now that We’ve Found Love – Third World
  • Broken English – Marianne Faithfull
  • Dear Mr. Fantasy – Traffic
  • Relax – Frankie Goes to Hollywood
  • May You Never – John Martyn
  • Solidarity – Black Uhuru
  • Keep on Running – Spencer Davis Group
  • I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For – U2

Background Information

This compilation of music from Island Records artists was compiled to celebrate Island’s 25th birthday in 1987. The compilation was a promotional compilation, made for use in Sam the Record Man stores in Canada to promote the 25th birthday and Island’s artists. The compilation contained two tracks from U2, the longer version of “Pride” and the album version of “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”.

Sam the Record Man was a chain of music stores that were popular in Canada at the time.

The CD featuring U2 would have been one of the earlier CDs featuring U2 pressed in Canada, as they Island started pressing CDs in Canada just a few months prior, and “The Joshua Tree” would have been the first CD produced in Canada in March of that year.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases