"Island Records CHR Summer Sampler" - Various Artists

Promotional Release

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Dancehall Queen (Bonzai Mix) – Beenie Man featuring Chevelle Franklyn
  • Last Night on Earth – U2
  • No One But You – Veronica
  • Ondine – Buster Poindexter
  • If U Stay Ready (Radio Edit) – Suga Free
  • Feeling Hm-Pa-Paa-Paaa – Dee
  • Eddie Vedder (No Shit Version) – Local H
  • Beekeepers Blues – Susanna Hoffs
  • I Want to Be – Echo and the Bunnymen
  • We Can Get Down – Myron
  • Me As Helen of Troy (The Nice Mix) – Cinnamon
  • Somehow (Radio Edit No Rap) – Voices of Theory
  • Say What – Dymon

Background Information

This promotional release from the United States contained songs that Island Records would be promoting during the Summer of 1997. The songs were intended for “Contemporary Hit Radio” or CHR. The CD itself comes with a front and back insert, and features several different Island logos on the back sleeve of the release. This CD contains the Polygram ‘0501’ marking on the back cover and on the inside insert.

The U2 song included on this release is the album version of the song, suggesting that this promotional release was prepared before the single mix was finalized and distributed to the label. There is no information about U2 on the promo other than a note that the song was taken from the album Pop, and the catalog number of the album.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases