"Just Passin' Thru" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing

  • Ball Eyes – Porno for Pyros
  • Good – Better Than Ezra
  • Who Will Save Your Soul – Jewel
  • Black Metallic – Catherine Wheel
  • Dress – P.J. Harvey
  • Mrs. Rita – Gin Blossoms
  • Good Enough – Sarah McLachlan
  • Something’s Always Wrong – Toad the Wet Sprocket
  • Name – Goo Goo Dolls
  • Last Goodbye – Jeff Buckley
  • St. Teresa – Joan Osborne
  • Street Spirit – Radiohead
  • Sick of Myself – Matthew Sweet
  • One (Live, January 1993) – Automatic Baby (4:21)

Background Information

The compilation “Just Passin’ Thru” was put together by WHFS Radio 96.1 for promotion of their radio station. The CD was the first volume in what would become a series of releases under the “Just Passin’ Thru” name released by the radio station, named after a popular show on the station. The show for which it is named is a series of intimate acoustic sessions, and the music on the compilation reflected this, even if not all of the performances were done for this broadcast. The compilation included a live version of “One” being performed by Automatic Baby, a super group made up of two members of U2 with two members of R.E.M.

In January 1993, members of R.E.M. had plans to perform at MTV’s Inaugural Ball for President Bill Clinton. Not all of R.E.M. was available for the performance, and upon learning that Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen may be available and they were approached to play. The final performance was by Michael Stipe and Mike Mills of R.E.M. joined by Larry and Adam of U2. They decided to name this supergroup “Automatic Baby” taking a portion of the name from each of the band’s last album releases, “Automatic for the People” and “Achtung Baby”. The song they performed was “One”.

The track was broadcast on MTV, and was made available on a variety of compilations over the years including “99 X II Live”, “Just Passin’ Thru,” “KZON Collectibles Volume 4” and “Childline”. Each of these were limited run CDs done by local radio stations, and quickly went out of print. In 1997, an album called “Amazing Grace” was put together. The album was widely released by Island Records and is probably the easiest to find out of any of the compilations containing the track, however it too is now out of print.

Automatic Baby was a one off group, and they performed just one song at the Inaugural Ball, this version of “One”. The performance was held on January 20, 1993, at the “MTV Rock and Roll Inaugural Ball” held in Washington DC.

Liner Notes

One (Live):
Words by Bono. Music by U2. Published by Polygram International Publishing. Recorded at MTVs 1992 Inaugural Ball. Michael Stipe: Vocals. Mike Mills: Vocals, guitar. Adam Clayton: Bass. Larry Mullen: Drums.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases