"Much Dance 1997 / Danse Plus 1997" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Hypnotize – The Notorious B.I.G.
  • Doin’ It (Unarmed Mix) – LL Cool J
  • We Trying To Stay Alive – Wyclef Jean
  • Do You Know [What It Takes] – Robyn
  • I Want You (Jason’s Crossover Mix) – Savage Garden
  • MMMBop (Dust Brothers Mix) – Hanson
  • I’ll Be Missing You – Puff Daddy & Faith Evans
  • Break My Stride – Unique II
  • Hang On Here We Go! (Theme to E.C.) – Jet Fuel
  • Discotheque (Hexidecimal Mix) – U2
  • I Say A Little Prayer (Love to Infinity’s Classic Radio Mix) – Diana King
  • Love Fool (Tee’s Club Radio Mix) – The Cardigans
  • Quit Playing Games (With My Heart) [Jazzy Jim’s MixxShoww Slamma+] – Backstreet Boys
  • How Bizarre (Cibola Radio Mix) – OMC
  • Broken Bones – Love Inc.
  • Rhythm Of Love ’97 (Extended Vocal Mix) – DJ Company
  • Step Into A World (Rapture’s Delight Mix) – KRS-ONE

Background Information

Much Music in 1997 was the Canadian music station, broadcast from Toronto across Canada. It played a large amount of music videos, and had a weekly dance program called EC or Electric Circus. The sister station, in Quebec, was the French music station, Musique Plus. Each year, from 1990 – 1996, Much Music collaborated with Quality music to produce an album of dance tracks. In 1997 the compilations switched to Sony Music, and the compilations would continue up until current day with one compilation CD being released each year featuring a mix of dance music. The 1997 compilation was released on November 11, 1997 in most parts of Canada, although it was released a day later on November 12, 1997 in some provinces due to a holiday.

The compilation featured U2’s “Discothèque (Hexidecimal Mix)” on the CD. The version appearing here is a shortened edit of the track, at 4:12 in length as opposed to the version that was 5:21 in length being featured on the Discothèque single. The “Much Dance 1997” compilation is a continuous mix and you can hear a bit of the previous song mixed into Discothèque at the start, although the track comes to a clean end point before continuing into the next song.

Two versions of the CD exist, one in English and one with French inserts issued by the sister station Musique Plus. In Quebec the release was called 1997 Danse Plus, and the cover is much the same with the year and the globe being reversed in the logo. Both the French and English versions carry the statement “Not available from Record Clubs” and the CD was only available for purchase in stores. The catalog numbers are slightly different for the English and French releases.

Liner Notes

Discothèque (Hexidecimal Mix)
Musique: U2.
Paroles: Bono & The Edge.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases