"Now That's What I Call Music! 37" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Tracks:

Full Track Listing:

CD / Tape One:

  • MMMBop” – Hanson
  • “I Wanna Be the Only One” – Eternal ft. Bebe Winans
  • “Lovefool” – The Cardigans
  • “Just A Girl” – No Doubt
  • “Ecuador” – Sash! ft. Rodriguez
  • “Where Do You Go” – No Mercy
  • “Who Do You Think You Are” – Spice Girls
  • “Free” – Ultra Nate
  • “Closer than Close” – Rosie Gaines
  • “Star People” (Forthright Edit) – George Michael
  • “Don’t Let Go (Love)” – En Vogue
  • “You Might Need Somebody” – Shola Ama
  • “CU When U Get There” – Coolio ft. 40 Thevz
  • “Smokin’ Me Out” – Warren G. ft. Ron Isley
  • “I Believe I Can Fly” – R. Kelly
  • “Wonderful Tonight” – Damage
  • “Isn’t It A Wonder” – Boyzone
  • “Quit Playing Games” – Backstreet Boys
  • “Hey DJ! (Play That Song)” – N-Tyce
  • “I’ll Be” – Foxy Brown ft. Jay-Z

CD / Tape Two:

  • “If I Never See You Again” – Wet Wet Wet
  • “Staring at the Sun” – U2
  • “Bittersweet Symphony” – The Verve
  • “Love is the Law” – The Seahorses
  • “100 Mile High City” – Ocean Colour Scene
  • “Old Before I Die” – Robbie Williams
  • “Guiding Star” – Cast
  • “Young Boy” – Paul McCartney
  • “A Change Would Do You Good” – Sheryl Crow
  • “Paranoid Android” – Radiohead
  • “Halo” – Texas
  • “Sun Hits the Sky” – Supergrass
  • “Waltzing Along” – James
  • “On Your Own” – Blur
  • “Scooby Snacks” – Fun Lovin’ Criminals
  • “The Saint” – Orbital
  • “Nightmare” – Brainbug
  • “Ain’t Nobody” – The Course
  • “Something Goin’ On” – Todd Terry ft. Martha Wash and Jocelyn Brown
  • “Give Me Love” – Diddy

Background Information

Now That’s What I Call Music! is a series of compilation albums which started in 1983 in the UK, conceived at Virgin Records, and released by Sony, EMI, Polygram and others as a joint release. The series takes various hits from the labels and releases them as a compilation spotlighting the best records of the recent months, with three compilations a year being published usually. The compilations were incredibly successful and have sold millions of copies over the years. A separate US series of compilations also exists.

Compilation #37 was released in the summer of 1997, and features tracks from that year. U2 appear on the second disc with “Staring at the Sun”, released as a single in April 1997. The compilation was released on CD and cassette with the compilation being pressed on vinyl having stopped with #35.

The version of “Staring at the Sun” used on the compilation is a slight edit of the version found on U2’s Pop album and “Staring at the Sun” single. The song is faded out five seconds earlier than the album version on this compilation. The song runs 04:32 on the compilation.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases