"Pete Tong Essential Selection 2005" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

Disc One:
  • Discopolis (5:34) – Lifelike and Kris Menace
  • Speechless (7:42) – Mish Mash
  • Let’s Be Young (6:13) – Quentin Harris
  • My Life (Haji & Emanuel Mix) (5:56) – Chanel
  • Love Generation (Main Version) (6:03) – Bob Sinclar
  • So in Love (3:40) – T.M.D.
  • Seven Days in Sunny June (Steve Mac Classic Mix) (5:10) – Jamiroquai
  • Make ‘Em Shake It (4:47) – Wahoo
  • Deep End (6:39) – Pete Tong & Chris Cox
  • Dream About Me (Sebastian Ingrosso Mix) (4:02) – Moby
  • B*tch (4:37) – Dave McCullen
  • Everybody (Pete Heller Mix) (6:57) – Martin Solveig
  • Insomnia (Armand’s European Vacation Mix) (4:46) – Faithless
  • City of Blinding Lights (Paradise Soul Vocal Mix) (5:36) – U2
    Disc Two:
  • I Feel Space (5:45) – Lindstrom
  • Muscle Car (DJ T MIx) (6:06) – Mylo
  • Do U Wanna Dance (Pete Tong & James Talk Stump Jumper Mix) (5:49) – Wally Lopez
  • Mandarine Girl (6:43) – Booka Shade
  • Galvanize (Abe Duque Mix) (4:31) – The Chemical Brothers
  • Want 2 / Need 2 (Trentmoller Mix) (4:15) – Sharon Phillips
  • Friday (5:18) – Fred Everything & 20 For 7
  • 49 Percent (M.A.N.D.Y. Mix) (6:02) – Royksopp
  • Body Language (6:48) – M.A.N.D.Y. vs Booka Shade
  • Der Muckenschwarm (5:52) – Oliver Koletzki
  • Ooh La La (Tiefschwraz Mix) (4:59) – Goldfrapp
  • Washing Up (Tiga Mix) (4:10) – Tomas Andersson
  • Is Killing Me (5:15) – Nick & Danny Chatelain
  • Mr. Brightside (Jacques Lu Cont’s Thin White Duke Mix) (6:48) – The Killers

Background Information

Pete Tong is a well known British DJ, who has worked for BBC Radio 1. His radio show on Friday evenings on BBC Radio 1 was titled “Essential Selection” and ran from 1991 to 2006 showcasing the latest electronic dance music. In 2006 the format of the show has been changed and it is now simply titled “Pete Tong”. Over the years a series of CDs have been released starting in 1997 under the title “Essential Selection”. Pete Tong is not the remixer of individual tracks, but is responsible for the overall mix on the album, drawing songs from a variety of acts and remixers.

This CD is titled “Pete Tong Essential Selection” on the spine and the cover of the CD. We have added the 2005 to allow readers to quickly search for the Essential Selection compilation they may be looking for. On this CD is featured a remix of U2’s “City of Blinding Lights”. The remix is “City of Blinding Lights (Paradise Soul Vocal Mix)”, but the version featured here is an edit of the previous release of this song. A 12-Inch vinyl promo of “City of Blinding Lights” contained the longer version of this mix at 8:16 in length. It had been released in June 2005 to promote the release of the single. The version found here, in its edited form is the first time it has been commercially released, and the first time it was available on CD.

Pete Tong would go on to remix U2’s 2009 single “Magnificent”, and he also featured that song on one of his later compilations.

Liner Notes

Music by U2. Lyrics by Bono. Remixed by Paradise Soul: Stretch Silvester & Mike Monday. Engineered & Mixed by Mike Monday. Paradise Soul appear courtesy of Mix Management.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases