"Playing for Change: Songs Around the World" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Stand By Me – Various
  • One Love – Various
  • War / No More Trouble – Various
  • Biko – Various
  • Don’t Worry – Various
  • Talkin’ About a Revolution – Afro Fiesta
  • Better Man – Keb’ Mo’
  • Chanda Mama – Various
  • Love Rescue Me – Omagh Community Youth Choir

Background Information

The “Playing for Change” project got its start when the creators of the project, Mark Johnson and Enzo Bouno traveled the world with a mobile recording studio, and recording local musicans performing the same song, each in their own style. The duo visited New Orleans, Barcelona, South Africa, India, the Middle East, and Ireland among others. The recorded music was then mixed together to create songs, with each recording artist singing a few lines.

The duo were first introduced to Bono through a mutual friend, Norman Lear, who had sent Bono a DVD with some of the music the duo had recorded around the world. He was interested in contributing to the project, and the “Playing for Change” group recorded him and filmed him performing “War / No More Trouble”. Bono was recorded in Dublin. Bono appears to have been performing in the Hannover Quay studio in Dublin in the video that was filmed.

Other musicans involved in this song were recorded in various parts of the world including the Congo, India, Jamaica, Northern Ireland, United States, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Israel. The producers of the song also make use of footage of Bob Marley in Jamaica, and mix it into the song. The backing choir on the song is from Northern Ireland, and is called the Omagh Community Youth Choir, who formed in the wake of the bombing of Omagh in August 1998. The choir also perform a cover of U2’s “Love Rescue Me” on the album.

The CD was released in most regions with a DVD that featured video footage and videos of the songs. Included is the video for “War / No More Trouble” which features video of Bono performing the song as it was being recorded.

Liner Notes

War / No More Trouble:
Written by Carleton Barrett / Allen Cole / Bob Marley.
Rocky Dawuni: vocals (Ghana). Bono: vocals (Ireland). Mermans Kenkosenki: vocals (Congo). Jason Tamba: Vocals, guitar (Congo). Vinaya, Saindhavi and Krithikaa: Vocals (India). Bob Marley: Vocals (Jamaica). The Omagh Community Youth Choir: Vocals (Northern Ireland). Daryl J. Simpson: Choir DIrector (Northern Ireland). Kevin Moore II: Drums (USA). Tshotsho Fikisi: Congas (Congo). Biziko: Djembe (Congo). Cathy Jordan: Bodhran (Ireland). David Broza: Guitar (Israel). Louis Mhlanga: Guitar (Zimbabwe). Jimi Indi Phiri: Electric Bass (South Africa). Saroja: Dilruba (India). Venkat: Tablas and shaker (India).

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases