"Pure Dance 1998" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Lovefool (Tee’s Club Radio) – The Cardigans
  • Da’ Dip – Freak Nasty
  • How Bizarre (Cibola Radio Mix) – OMC
  • My Baby Daddy – B-Rock & The Bizz
  • Say…If You Feel Alright – Crystal Waters
  • Let’s Get Down (Fitch Bros. Club Radio Edit) – Tony! Toni! Tone!
  • Discotheque (DM Radio Mix) – U2
  • In De Ghetto – Bad Yard Club featuring Crystal Waters
  • Wind Up Your Body – David Morales featuring Delta
  • Fired Up – Funky Green Dogs
  • Talk to Me – Wild Orchid
  • This is Your Night – Amber
  • Don’t Speak – Clueless
  • Jellyhead – Crush
  • Encore Une Fois – Sash!
  • Get Up (Parade Mix) – Byron Stingily
  • The Lover That You Are – Pulse

Background Information

This dance compilation is a mixed compilation of tracks from PolyGram artists on the PolyGram TV label. The full mix is done by Franco Iemmello and Michael Cohen. A similar compilation was put out at the same time, with the same cover in Canada, but the Canadian version does not include the U2 track. The U2 remix is only present on the USA version.

The remix here is titled the “DM Radio Mix” and is a radio edit of the DM Deep Club Mix, which U2 had released at 07:01 in length on the “Discothèque“ single as well as on the “Pop Mart Sampler“ promotional release. This compilation is the only known commercial location to find this shortened version of the track. This is a continuously mixed CD which means there is some overlap between songs on the disc. In this case, Discotheque starts pretty cleanly, but the very last line by Bono, “I can’t” is separated so you hear the “I” at the end of the track, and the “can’t” at the start of the next track, which is “In De Ghetto” by Bad Yard Club featuring Crystal Waters.

The liner notes feature an image of the cover for Pop and the following description:

This band needs no introduction. The biggest band in the world discovered the joys of the dancefloor during their three year layoff and came back with this tribute to all things disco. David Morales once again adds his deft remixing skills to bring U2, the world’s biggest rock band, onto the dancefloor.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases