"Radio 1's Live Lounge Vol. 4" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

Disc One:

  • Poker Face – Lady Gaga
  • Sweet Dreams / Beat Again – Tinchy Stryder and Amele
  • Boom Boom Pow – Black Eyed Peas
  • Not Fair – Lily Allen
  • Electric Feel – Katy Perry
  • Mama Do (Uh oh, Uh oh) – Newton Faulkner
  • Halo – Florence & the Machine
  • Sexy Chick – Paloma Faith
  • A Million Love Songs – Scouting for Girls
  • When You Were Young – Noisettes
  • Love Sex Magic – Biffy Clyro
  • Paris – Friendly Fires
  • Wearing my Rolex – Hot Chip
  • Heavy Cross – Gossip
  • If I Were A Boy – Jamie T
  • T Shirt – Shontelle
  • Bonkers – King Blues
  • Tiny Dancer – Ironik
  • Beautiful Day – U2

Disc Two:

  • Ready for the Weekend – Calvin Harris
  • The Sweet Escape – Kasabian
  • Beat Again – Little Boots
  • Red – Daniel Merriweather
  • Candy – Paola Nutini
  • Sex on Fire – Alesha Dixon
  • Spiralling – Sugababes
  • Beggin’ – The Saturdays
  • Since U Been Gone – Kelly Clarkson
  • Times Like These – The Script
  • Shake It – Metro Station
  • Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It) – Marmaduke Duke
  • Mykonos – Fleet Foxes
  • Just Dance – Maximo Park
  • Daniel – Bat For Lashes
  • Jump in the Pool – Lekka
  • Raindrops – Basement Jaxx
  • Papa Can You Hear Me? – N-Dubz
  • Bonkers – Dizzee Rascal

Background Information

This was the fourth volume collecting performances from the BBC Radio 1 program “Live Lounge” hosted by Jo Whiley. The segment features artists performing one song of their own and one song by another artist. The performances are often done acoustic. The songs were first collected in October 2006, on the first compilation, and proved to be so successful that there has been another volume in the set released each October. There was also a “Best Of” released in June of 2011. The “Live Lounge” segment is no longer hosted by Jo Whiley and is now hosted by Fearne Cotton.

While promoting the album “No Line on the Horizon” U2 appeared on Jo Whiley’s show. The performance was held on the morning of February 27, 2009, and U2 played four songs. The full set list was “Get On Your Boots”, “Magnificent”, “Beautiful Day” and “Breathe”. To meet the “cover” standard, an extended piece of the Beatle’s “Blackbird” was attached to “Beautiful Day”. The recording found on this album includes “Beautiful Day” and “Blackbird” as one track. “Magnificent” was not broadcast, but was held for a later broadcast on the BBC.

That same night, U2 would return to the BBC, for a performance at the BBC Broadcasting House high above the streets to an estimated five thousand fans below. They had also appeared the prior day on BBC television taping a performance for “Friday Night With the Jonathan Ross” show. They had also taped a performance of “Get On Your Boots” for a Comic Relief Special the following month on the BBC.

Complaints were raised about the prominence placed on the U2 album during these activities, and that things like the “U2 = BBC” graphic, links to the artists websites, and thus to ticket agents, were not in keeping with the BBC guidelines. The BBC would admit that they went too far in the promotion of the U2 album. Regardless, the performance of “Beautiful Day / Blackbird” did make it onto this compilation, and would later also appear on “The Best Of” compilation for the series.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases