"Selections from the Tibetan Freedom Concert" - Various Artists

Promotional Release

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Om Mani Padme Hung – Yungchen Lhamo
  • Fake Plastic Trees – Radiohead
  • Oh My God – A Tribe Called Quest
  • One – U2
  • The Bridge is Over / Black Cop / South Bronx Medley – KRS-1
  • Yellow Ledbetter – Eddie Vedder & Mike McCready
  • She Caught the Katy – Taj Mahal and the Phantom Blues Band
  • Electrolite – Michael Stipe & Mike Mills
  • Hyper-Ballad – Bjork
  • The Harder They Come – Rancid
  • Root Down – The Beastie Boys

Background Information

The Milarepa Fund was initiated by the Beastie Boys in 1994 when they sampled Tibetan monks on their album “Ill Communication” as a way disburse royalties to the Monks. The Fund would also be the recipient to the profits from a series of festivals supporting the cause of Tibetan independence, which were organized by the Beastie Boys. The second concert was held at Randall’s Island, in New York on June 7 and June 8, 1997. Tracks from those two days make up the bulk of the audio on the 3-disc release “Tibetan Freedom Concert” released in November of 1997. This one-disc release is a promotional release sent to radio to promote the 3-disc release.

U2 performed on the first day of the festival, June 7, 1997. They performed a five song set that included “Gone”, “Mysterious Ways”, “One”, “Until the End of the World” and “Please”. Only “One” is included on this 3-disc compilation, and it is also the song that is present on this promotional release. Like the commercial release, the U2 song is continuous from the song before it, and you can hear Bono quietly say “Oh you better get up early in the morning” at the very end of the song “Oh My God” by A Tribe Called Quest on this promotional CD. It is the same on the commercial 3-disc set.

The promotional release contains a slightly different version of “One” than is contained on the 3-disc set. This promotional CD contains a version that is seven seconds shorter, and fades out at the end of the track instead of continuing on unbroken into the next track. This has been added because the Noel Gallagher song that follows U2 on the commercial album does not follow the song here.

Liner Notes

Written by Paul David Hewson / Adam Clayton / David Evans / Laurence Mullen. Bono: Vocals and Guitar. The Edge: Guitar and Vocal. Adam Clayton: Bass. Larry Mullen: Drums.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases