"Slave to the Rhythm" - Various Artists

Promotional Release

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Addicted to Love – Robert Palmer
  • Looking For Clues – Robert Palmer
  • I Knew You Were Waiting (For Me) – Aretha Franklin and George Michael
  • An Angel Cries – Aretha Franklin
  • How Much Love – Leo Sayer
  • Thunder in My Heart – Leo Sayer
  • Key Largo – Bertie Higgins
  • Glory of Love – Peter Cetera
  • Slave to the Rhythm – Grace Jones
  • The Apple Stretching – Grace Jones
  • In a Lifetime – Clannad (featuring Bono)
  • Master and Servant – Depeche Mode
  • People Are People – Depeche Mode
  • Far Post – Robert Plant
  • Eyes Without A Face – Billy Idol
  • White Wedding – Billy Idol
  • Kokomo – Beach Boys
  • Let’s Go Crazy – Prince

Background Information

This promotional CD was issued by the BBC for it’s own stations. The CD was part of their Radioplay series of discs sent out for airplay between 1974 and the early 1990s, with the songs included on each disc organized around a general theme. The music was used by local stations to put together a program with their own hosts. Each was labeled on the back “BBC Radioplay Music is not available to the public” and the discs were not meant to be released outside of the station archives. These CDs being intended just for the BBC stations throughout the UK it is likely that the print runs are quite low on these promotional discs.

The Slave to the Rhythm CD was released in early 1989. It includes a unique edit of Bono’s song with Clannad, “In A Lifetime”. Compared to the version on Clannad albums, this is a significantly shorter version of the song with 2 seconds trimmed off the music at the start of the track, and an additional 11.5 seconds of music removed at the end. The song now ends shortly after the last “In A Lifetime” vocal is heard.

The promo was released in a regular jewel case, with a custom cover and a back cover insert with track information.

Liner Notes

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases