"Songs for Japan" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

Disc One:

  • Imagine – John Lennon
  • Walk On – U2
  • Shelter From The Storm – Bob Dylan
  • Around The World – Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • Born This Way – Lady Gaga
  • Irreplaceable – Beyoncé
  • Talking To The Moon – Bruno Mars
  • Firework – Katy Perry
  • Only Girl (In The World) – Rihanna
  • Like I Love You – Justin Timberlake
  • Miles Away – Madonna
  • Love The Way You Lie – Eminem Feat. Rihanna
  • Human Touch – Bruce Springsteen
  • Awake – Josh Groban
  • Better Life – Keith Urban
  • One Tribe – Black Eyed Peas
  • Sober – P!nk
  • It’s OK – Cee Lo Green

Disc Two:

  • I Run To You – Lady Antebellum
  • What Do You Got – Bon Jovi
  • My Hero – Foo Fighters
  • Man On The Moon – R.E.M.
  • Save Me – Nicki Minaj
  • By Your Side – Sade
  • Hold On – Michael Bublé
  • Pray – Justin Bieber
  • Make You Feel My Love – Adele
  • If I Could Be Where You Are – Enya
  • Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me – Elton John
  • Waiting On The World To Change – John Mayer
  • Teo Torriatte (Let Us Cling Together) – Queen
  • Use Somebody – Kings Of Leon
  • Fragile – Sting
  • Better In Time – Leona Lewis
  • One In A Million – Ne-Yo
  • Whenever, Wherever – Shakira
  • Sunrise – Norah Jones

iTunes Exclusive:

  • When Love Takes Over – David Guetta featuring Kelly Rowland

Background Information

On March 11, 2011 a large earthquake struck off of the coast of Japan, creating a tsunami which flooded the coast, and creating a number of nuclear accidents. The earthquake and after affects were responsible for the death of over 15,000 people, and another 10,000 injured or missing. This release, is a collaborative effort by the big four labels including Sony, EMI, Universal and Warner. The album was released digitally on March 25, 2011 through iTunes, and a physical release came on April 3/4, 2011, less than a month after the disaster.

Royalties for the album were waived by the artists and the labels, and all proceeds from the sale of the album were earmarked for the Japanese Red Cross.

The song included by U2 is the single edit of the song “Walk On”. The song was released in 2001 as a single in Canada, titled “Walk On”. The edit featured here is a few seconds shorter than the edit found on the single itself, but this is due to the editing of approximately five seconds of silence off the end of the original edit. They are the same track otherwise.

Liner Notes

Walk On: Written by Bono, Music by The Edge, Adam clayton, Larry Mullen. Produced by Daniel Lanois and Brian Eno.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases