"Special Brew" - Various Artists


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Numb (Gimme Some More Dignity Mix – Edit) – U2 (8:11)
  • One to One Religion (DJ Pogo Remix) – Bomb the Bass (4:18)
  • Blue Print – Attica Blues (5:00)
  • Release Yo’ Delf (Prodigy Remix) – Method Man (4:56)
  • Voodoo People (Dust Brothers Remix) – Prodigy (5:01)
  • Hot Flush (Sabres of Paradise Remix) – Red Snapper (4:59)
  • Knockout Position – Kaliphz (2:51)
  • Perpetual Motion (Emotionless Science) – DJ Crystl (4:59)
  • State of Rage (Sensual V.I.P. Mix) – Goldie (7:15)
  • Wild Wood (Paul Weller vs. Portishead Mix) – Paul Weller (3:27)
  • Cry – Money Mark (2:20)
  • Away Again – Howie B (2:57)

Alternative Tracks:

  • Army of Me (ABA All Stars Mix) – Bjork (3:49)
  • Chemical Beats (Junior Boys Own Mix) – Chemical Brothers (4:50)
  • Protection (Underdog’s Angel Dust Mix) – Massive Attack (4:51)
  • Ramblings of a Mad Man – Future Sound of London (4:28)

Background Information

This 1997 compilation album was put together to show that some songs could bridge the gap between hip hop and other contemporary musical genres. The compilation was released by FFRR Records on cassette and CD. A limited edition double vinyl features some alternative tracks to the version released on CD.

The song included here from U2 is “Numb (Gimme Some More Dignity Mix – Edit)”, remixed by Rollo and Rob D. Rob D (Rob Dougan) and Rollo (Rollo Armstrong) are music producers, and remixers, who have worked together under the name One Tribe. Rollo is the older brother of singer Dido, who he has helped with production and writing. Rollo is also a founding member of Faithless. Rob D. has had a career as a solo artist, including songs on the soundtracks to the Matrix films. This remix of “Numb” opens with Rollo speaking over the track recorded from an answering machine message he left Rob when he found out they had the U2 remix job. The remix was initially done for 1995’s “Melon” album, and that version of the song is 8:47 in length. It is edited to 8:11 for this release. The song would later be edited in length again and released on The Best of 1990 – 2000 & B Sides album.

“Numb (Gimme Some More Dignity Mix – Edit)” was featured on both the CD versions of the album, as well as the vinyl versions of the album.

Liner Notes

Numb (Gimme Some More Dignity Mix): Performed by U2. Remixed by Rollo and Rob D.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases