"Street Lights" - Various Artists


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • “Homeward Bound” – Street Lights (featuring Bono)
  • “Soft Rain” – Damien Dempsey
  • “Set Fire to the Third Bar” – Snow Patrol
  • “Rocky Took a Lover” – Bell X1
  • “Dreams” – Saint Sister
  • “What Happens When the Heart Just Stops” – The Frames
  • “My Ireland (Excerpt)” – Stephen James Smith
  • “I Lie Awake Every Night” – James Vincent McMorrow
  • “To Build a Home” – Glenn & Ronan
  • “Falling Down the Mountainside with You” – David Gray
  • “Hush A By Mountain” (Live) – Richard Hawley & Lisa Hannigan
  • “Earthly Pleasures” (Live) – Villagers
  • “No Train to Cavan” – Lisa O’Neill
  • “Mna Na hEireann” – Celtic Woman
  • “All I Want is A Room Somewhere” – Luka Bloom

Background Information

This fifteen track compilation CD was put together for charity, and proceeds from sale of the album will go to Peter McVerry Trust, Simon Community Ireland and Focus Ireland which will put the profits towards rehousing throughout Ireland. The album features a newly recorded cover version of Simon and Garfunkel’s “Homeward Bound” which features Bono on lyrics among other artists such as Snow Patrol’s Gary Lightbody, Villagers, The High Hopes Choir, Cathy Davey, Loah, Roisin O, Join Me In The Pines, Saint Sister and Colm Mac Con. They have recorded the song under the collective name “Street Lights” which is also the name of this album.

The album was released on December 7, 2018. The cover of “Homeward Bound” was released as a single to digital markets ahead of the release of the album, on November 16, 2018. One of the artists playing on the “Homeward Bound” track as part of the orchestra, Una O’Kane, also appeared on the 1998 mix of “The Sweetest Thing”.

The other tracks on the album are by some of the artists featured on the collective track as well as other artists who did not participate. The CD release of the album features fifteen tracks in total. The digital release of the album only features thirteen tracks and the Snow Patrol song and the Bell X1 song are omitted from the digital release. The cover art also varies slightly between the digital releases online, and the CD release.

All profits from the single and album sales have been earmarked for three organizations in Ireland, all of whom focus on the homeless in Ireland as part of their mandate. These three organizations are The Peter McVerry Trust, Simon Community Ireland, and Focus Ireland. All three have agreed that money raised from the album will be used directly for rehoming and rehousing at a national level in Ireland. If you are interested in buying the actual album, we’ve found that Celtic Collections has a reasonable shipping fee for international orders and were very quick to ship. It is also available through other online merchants, and can also be purchased in a digital format.

Liner Notes

Street Lights are:
Vocals: Dave Geraghty, Gary Lightbody, Bono, Conor O’Brien, Loah, Roisin O, Cathy Davey, Galia Arad, Faye O’Rourke, Saint Sister, Little Green Cars. Cian Boylan: Piano, Conor Brady: Guitar, Ben Castle: Sax, Colm Mac Con Iomaire: Violin, Colm Quearney: Guitar. Rob Malone: Bass. Graham Hopkins: Drums.

The High Hopes Choir: Carmel Whelan: Musical Director, Glenn Alexander: Managing Coordinator, Emer Twamley, Alison Sweeney, Paul Haughan, Margaret Quilty, Emma Richardson, Maria Byrne, Hazel McDonald, Lisa McEnroe, Josephine Lynch, Anne Meerton, Gina Aherne, Josie O’Rourke, Teresa Graham, Kathleen Twomey, Barra O’Tuama, David Collins, Margaret Rose Brennan, Caitriona Twomey, Billy Weekes, Lorina Weekes, Clodagh O’Donovan, Hannah Healy, Gerard Sheehan, Miriam Daly, Patrick Joseph O’Neill.

The Camden Orchestra: Kenneth Rice, Cliodhna Ryan, Orla Ni Bhraoin, Ailbhe McDonagh, David O’Dorherty, Louis Roden, Hugh Murray, Una O’Kane, Katie O’Connor, Paula Hughes, Karen Dervan.

Mastered by Richard Dowling. Engineered and mixed by Conor Brady. Produced and Arranged by Cian Boylan.


Artwork by Caroline Nesbett, Designedly Ltd.
Original Illustrations by David McElgunn.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases