"The Best of Bond...James Bond" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listings:

1999 Edition: (The World is Not Enough)

  • James Bond Theme – John Barry & Orchestra
  • Goldfinger – Shirley Bassey
  • Nobody Does It Better – Carly Simon
  • A View To A Kill – Duran Duran
  • For Your Eyes Only – Sheena Easton
  • We Have All The Time In The World – Louis Armstrong
  • Live And Let Die – Paul McCartney & Wings
  • All Time High – Rita Coolidge
  • The Living Daylights – A-Ha
  • License To Kill – Gladys Knight
  • From Russia With Love – Matt Monro
  • Thunderball – Tom Jones
  • You Only Live Twice – Nancy Sinatra
  • Moonraker – Shirley Bassey
  • On Her Majesty’s Secret Service – The John Barry Orchestra
  • The Man With The Golden Gun – Lulu
  • Diamonds Are Forever – Shirley Bassey
  • Goldeneye – Tina Turner
  • Tomorrow Never Dies – Sheryl Crow

2002 Edition Extra Tracks [40th Anniversary]: (Die Another Day):

  • The World Is Not Enough – Garbage
  • James Bond Theme – Moby
  • James Bond Theme – Parodi / Fair

2006 Edition Extra Tracks: (Casino Royale):

  • The World Is Not Enough – Garbage
  • James Bond Theme – Moby
  • James Bond Theme – Parodi / Fair

2008 Edition Extra Tracks: (Quantum of Solace)

  • Surrender – k.d. Lang
  • The World is Not Enough – Garbage
  • Die Another Day – Madonna
  • You Know My Name – Chris Cornell
  • The James Bond Theme – John Arnold

2012 Edition Extra Tracks [50th Anniversary]: (Skyfall)

  • The World is Not Enough – Garbage
  • Die Another Day – Madonna
  • You Know My Name – Chris Cornell
  • Another Way to Die – Jack White & Alicia Keys

Background Information

“GoldenEye” was the 1995 theme to the movie of the same name, a high profile relaunch of the James Bond franchise. The song was performed by Tina Turner, and was written by Bono and the Edge. The movie “GoldenEye” was named for the estate of Bond creator Ian Fleming located in Jamaica. The estate was sold in 1977 to Island Records executive Chris Blackwell, and this is where Bono had his honeymoon. For more information about the song and how it originated please view the discography entries for the “GoldenEye” soundtrack album, or the “GoldenEye” single released by Tina Turner. The remainder of these notes will deal in detail with the compilations named “The Best Of Bond…James Bond” instead.

The compilation “The Best of James Bond” was initially released for the 30th anniversary of the film franchise in 1992, and featured many of the songs that later pressings contained. As this compilation was a few years before “GoldenEye” was released, it did not contain the track. The initial release was a two disc set. The compilation was re-released in 1993 as a one disc set, once again being released as a 30th anniversary collection.

In 1999 the compilation was updated and re-released to strong sales. This was the first version of the compilation which included Tina Turner’s “GoldenEye” and it used the single edit of the song. The compilation kept the same running order of the previous 1993 album, but added “GoldenEye” and “Tomorrow Never Dies” at the end of the disc. The album was released on October 18, 1999 in the UK and Europe, and the following day in North America. The release of this compilation was done at the same time that “The World is Not Enough” was in theatres. Thus the album features hits from all of the movies up to, but not including the current movie. This was the first version of the compilation released with the “The Best of Bond…James Bond” title. The album released was a single disc, and featured a different cover from previous releases.

Sales were good on the 1999 release, so in 2002 when “Die Another Day” was being released in theatres, it was decided to release an updated version. This version was released on September 23, 2002 in Europe and the next day in North America. The album was retitled to reflect the 40th anniversary of the Bond franchise, and was released in a golden cover. The collection was updated to include “The World is Not Enough” by Garbage, which had featured in the previous soundtrack, as well as a reworking of the theme by Moby, and a reworking of the theme used in trailers for “GoldenEye”. In 2006 when “Casino Royale” was released to theatres, the compilation was once again released under the title “The Best of Bond…James Bond”. The 2006 version strips any mention of the 40th anniversary from the set, and featured a new cover artwork.

In 2008 when “Quantum of Solace” hit theatres an updated version of the compilation was released adding several new tracks as listed above. It was released October 27, 2008 in Europe, and the following day in North America. Two versions were released, a one disc set featuring just a single CD with the music listed above. A second version included a bonus DVD which included a documentary about the Bond movie music over the years, as well as videos for several tracks. Included on the DVD was the “GoldenEye” video featuring Tina Turner. This is not the opening credits for the “GoldenEye” movie, but rather a music video which features Tina Turner in the video.

The most recent version of this release was released at the same time “Skyfall” was reaching theatres. Like previous releases, it has been updated with new songs, including the theme from the last James Bond movie, “Quantum of Solace”. The album was released on October 8, 2012 in Europe, and the following day in North America. The cover has been updated and now features a golden skinned woman holding a gun against a white background. The title has now been altered to “Best of Bond…James Bond: 50th Anniversary Collection”. The version of “GoldenEye” by Tina Turner used on this release continues to be the “Single Edit” as it has been throughout the years on these compilations. A limited version of the CD features a second disc, and features the same cover but with a black background. It is titled “Best of Bond…James Bond: 50 Years 50 Tracks” and comes with a second bonus CD of songs. The bonus CD features 27 additional tracks, including a large number of instrumental tracks by The John Barry Orchestra, but also features some of the tracks that had been included on earlier compilations that had been removed from more recent compilations such as “Surrender” by k.d. Lang, and Moby’s re-version of the “James Bond Theme”.

Liner Notes

Credits from this Release:
Goldeneye / Tina Turner
(P. Hewson, D. Evans)
Producer Nellee Hooper
from the Virgin Records Soundtrack GoldenEye, 1995

Full Credits from the Soundtrack Album:
Goldeneye: Performed by Tina Turner. Written by Bono and the Edge. Produced and mixed by Nellee Hooper. Executive produced by Bono and the Edge. Recorded at Olympic Sound Studios, Londion. Recording and mix engineer: Mark ‘Spike’ Stent. Assisted by Paul ‘PW’ Walton. Programming by Marius De Vries. Orchestra arranged by Craig Armstrong. The Edge appears courtesy of Island Records Ltd. Bono and the Edge would like to thank Chris Blackwell for Goldeneye.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases