"End of Violence, The" - Various

Soundtrack Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Define Violence – Ry Cooder (3:20)
  • Shouldn’t You Know – Dialogue (0:32)
  • Every Time I Try – Spain (5:15)
  • Untitled Heavy Beat Part I and II – DJ Shadow (3:02)
  • I’m Not Your Baby – U2 and Sinead O’Connor (5:49)
  • Strange World – Dialogue (0:36)
  • Little Drop of Poison – Tom Waits (4:03)
  • Disrobe – Medeski Martin and Wood (4:38)
  • Injured Bird – Michael Stipe and Vic Chesnutt (3:48)
  • Bailare (El Merecumbe) – Raul Malo (4:11)
  • Me Estas Matando – Los Lobos (3:47)
  • Mr. Wobble – Latin Playboys (4:04)
  • Theme for a Trucker – Whiskeytown (4:29)
  • Unintentional Prayers – Dialogue (0:21)
  • You May Feel Me Crying – Roy Orbison (4:17)
  • Bad News – Eels (2:55)
  • Don’t Even Know She Got One – Howie B (4:33)
  • In a Heartbeat – Dialogue (0:08)

Background Information

The 1997 movie “The End of Violence” was directed by Wim Wenders, and written by Nicholas Klein and was produced while another movie they were working on, “The Million Dollar Hotel” was on hiatus. The movie was released on September 12, 1997. The soundtrack to the film, released the same week, featured a new song by U2, called “I’m Not Your Baby” which features vocals shared between Bono and Sinéad O’Connor. The song had been recorded in April of 1997 and the final editing and mixing of the song was undertaken at San Diego’s Signature Sound Studio on April 28th both before and after the PopMart Concert held at Jack Murphy Stadium. The band also re-recorded “Last Night on Earth” during the same recording sessions. U2 has had a long history contributing music to Wim Wenders movies, starting after their first meeting in 1990 to film a video for “Night and Day”. U2 has contributed music to “Until the End of the World” (1991), “Faraway So Close” (1993), “Beyond the Clouds” (1995), as well as to movies after “The End of the Violence” including “Million Dollar Hotel” (2000) and “Don’t Come Knocking” (2005).

When asked about their favorite songs that the band has worked on over the years, Larry Mullen singled out “I’m Not Your Baby” as one of his favorites.

The song was released on the U2 single “Please” in September of that year, but instead of the version with Sinéad O’Connor, the “Skysplitter Dub” was an instrumental and featured no vocals. The version with the vocals has been included on the album “Collaborations” by Sinéad O’Connor, and on the fan club only album “Duals” by U2.

Liner Notes

I’m Not Your Baby:
Music by U2. Lyrics by Bono. Performed by U2 and Sinead O’Connor. Produced by Howie B. and Flood. Engineered by Mark ‘Spike’ Stent. Assisted by Rob Kirwan. Mixed by Howie B. Assisted by Paul Falcone at the Hit Factory, NY. Vocal Production by Steve Osborne.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases