"The Joshua Tree - New Roots" - Various Artists

Compilation Album

U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing:

  • Where the Streets Have No Name – Gavin James (03:41)
  • I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For – Imelda May (04:02)
  • With or Without You – Picture This (04:05)
  • Bullet the Blue Sky – All Tvvins (03:33)
  • Running to Stand Still – Kodaline (03:56)
  • Red Hill Mining Town – Aine Cahill (05:57)
  • In God’s Country – The Academic (02:51)
  • Trip Through Your Wires – The Strypes (05:40)
  • One Tree Hill – The Coronas (05:05)
  • Exit – Fangclub (03:18)
  • Mothers of the Disappeared – Lyra (03:02)
  • Red Hill Mining Town (Live from Amsterdam) – U2 (05:03)

Background Information

Initially the album The Joshua Tree – New Roots, was announced in August 2017. The tribute album was announced as a project by RTE 2FM, where local Irish artists would be remaking the U2 album, with 11 covers of songs being recorded. At the time the compilation was not mentioned to include U2, but only announced that the compilation was being done with U2’s consent, and that the album would benefit Ireland’s LauraLynn Children’s Hospice. At the time the album was announced as being released by Universal Music Ireland.

In August there was also a competition to design the cover for the compilation, open to residents of Ireland. Judges of that competition included Steve Averill, long time designer for U2 themselves. Closing date for the contest was August 31, 2017, and the contest was won by Paul Joyce, a designer originally from Dublin.

In October 2017, it was announced that there would be an additional bonus track on the album beyond the 11 covers. The song would be “Red Hill Mining Town” recorded by U2 during their Joshua Tree 2017 tour stop in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Upon inspection, the song is taken from the first night that U2 played in Amsterdam, July 29, 2017. Larry Mullen of U2 said of the project, “The songs on ‘The Joshua Tree’ have traveled well with us over the past 30 years, it’s been a privilege to take them out on tour around the world again this year. And what an honour to hear them revisited on The Joshua Tree – New Roots in support of the important work of LauraLynn.”

The quote from Larry continues on in the booklet accompanying the physical CD, “As a band we’ve always been fans of playing and learning other people’s songs. What a thrill to get that treatment in reverse from such a wonderfully diverse roll-call of Irish singers and bands – especially since many were not born when The Joshua Tree was first released 30 years ago. We thank you for your versions of our songs. We love you LauraLynn and the ceaseless work you do.”

Paul Russell, the Deputy Head of 2FM spoke of Larry Mullen’s involvement in the project as well, “The station has long been associated with U2. This special album is a 2fm Music initiative showcasing our support of Irish music by inviting some of our favourite acts to connect with one of the most famous Irish albums of all time. While highlighting the incredible work of LauraLynn, we are especially indebted to Larry Mullen for joining the dots together in the early stages.”

Tracks from the album first started to air on RTE 2FM radio. starting on October 11, 2017. The album was released digitally and on CD on October 27, 2017. At this time it is only being released in Ireland. For those who would like to order a copy on CD, one Irish retailer, eBuzz.Ie does offer international shipping and started shipping out CD copies on Wednesday to international addresses. The digital version is available in digital storefronts in Ireland, at Qobuz it was released with the UPC 0060256704267 and at iTunes in Ireland it has the Apple ID 1292335469. A preview can be heard at iTunes in Ireland of all tracks.

On November 24, 2017, a special limited pressing was released on blue vinyl in Ireland. The pressing was limited to 500 copies of the vinyl, on two 12-inch records, with each copy being numbered on the front with a sticker on the outside of the stretch wrap. The vinyl was 180g Blue vinyl.

Liner Notes

Red Hill Mining Town (Live from The Joshua Tree Tour 2017):
Recorded at Amsterdam Arena Amsterdam, NL (Sat 29th July 2017). Bono: Vocals; Edge: Guitars and Vocals; Adam Clayton: Bass Guitars; Larry Mullen Jr: Drums and Percussion. Music: U2. Words: Bono. Recorded by Alastair McMillan. Mixed by Richard Rainey. Mix Supervised by Rab McAllister. Production Manager: Nadine King. Mastering: Scott Sedillo, Bernie Grundman Mastering, Holywood, USA.


Cover design by Paul Joyce.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases